Our Story

I was on the pill for a very long time (14 years!). I finally stopped taking BCP in Aug ’07. Soon after I started getting really bad acne on my neck, back, and a little on my chest. I wouldn’t even wear my hair in a ponytail without a turtleneck! Ihankfully none showed up on my face. it is finally gone now as of recently (September-ish), but I’ve never had acne in my life!

After stopping the pill, it took a couple of months for my cycles to return to “normal,” which for me is settling anywhere between 32-40 days. That 28-days thing is a total myth as far as I’m concerned! We started casually trying (using no protection) in Nov ’07, but seriously started trying in Jan ’08. in Feb, I was very stressed at work (stupid job!) and I actually skipped a cycle (66 days in total!). I went for a check-up to see if there was anything wrong and my reports all came back fine; hormones in check, etc.

That’s when I decided to seek out acupuncture (April ’08). My acupuncturist is fantastic. She focuses on fertility cycle regulation, in addition to general well being. It definitely helps with stress and anxiety, which seems to be less of an issue these days. i see her every 2 weeks.

I had a yearly gyno check-up on 9/9 and my gen phys/gyno (whom I adore – she promotes eastern medicine along with her western medical training) recommended that I see an RE to rule out anything since it’s been about a year since we’ve been trying. At her referral, we met with Dr. Peter L. Chang (Beth Israel Center for Infertility and Reproductive Health) on 10/29 for our first consultation. That experience will be detailed in a future posting.

All year long, I’ve peed on countless ovulation predictor sticks and pregnancy sticks. The OPKs always show when I’m going to ovulate, but the pregnancy tests always come up negative. But we’re confident that will change soon!

I’m 33 and my husband is 31. We celebrated 5 years of wedded bliss in August ’08 and we’re hoping to add to our family very soon. I’m a planner by nature (I’m a project manager!), so this hasn’t been easy for me especially with friends and family getting knocked up practically just by being in the same room as their husbands. my poor husband. I can’t get babies off the brain.

I started a new job in October ’08 and it’s proving to be waaaay less stressful. I’m happy as a clam and finally feeling like my body will be more accepting of new life.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

