Gearing Up for a Long Day

Tomorrow is the big day, although the luster and excitement has worn off a bit by now on this third go around. I am feeling tender and bloated and I know this is only the beginning of a very long, bloated two week wait. Bring it on IUI #3!

Tomorrow is going to be a stressful day. The IUI is first thing in the morning, and then I have to head straight to an all-day meeting. And to add stress to the situation, I have to join my meeting mates for drinks and dinner. This means I have to be with these people for 10 straight hours! In close quarters! And I have to be “on” the entire time, including through dinner. I love my job and I love what I do, but tomorrow I was hoping I could “call in sick” and relax at home with my hubby. Oh well, it will keep my mind off of things I suppose.

I’ve been doing a great job of avoiding my coworkers and their invitations for drinks in previous two week waits* but tomorrow is going to be difficult. They all know I enjoy the heck outta some wine or champagne so it’s going to be tough to explain why I’m not indulging. Any suggestions ICLWers? I’m contemplating just saying I’m on a diet and I’m watching my calorie intake. Hmm. A little white lie never hurt anyone, right?

If you were going to wish me luck, please put all the luck giving toward my IUI. I need all I can get. I can handle the coworkers!

*Yes, I have a glass of wine here and there up to ovulation but then I stop. I tried cutting out caffeine and alcohol and eating healthy and all that jazz for the first 12 months of TTC. It didn’t get me anywhere so I say, screw it! I do what makes me happy. A happy me makes for a comfy-er womb, right? Besides, Betty Draper drinks and smokes and she’s pregnant and she had a healthy baby! (Just getting caught up on Mad Men!)

3 responses to “Gearing Up for a Long Day

  1. Jen

    I asked my RE that exact question; about drinking during the 2ww, b/c my opinion is that wine makes everything better! 🙂 . He said “alcohol doesn’t prevent pregnancy. If it did, our teenage pregnancy rates would be a lot lower, right??!!”. Okay, then. Everything in moderation! I actually see 2 REs in that office, and the other one said 1 alcoholic beverage in a 24-hour period is fine.
    Good luck!

  2. Good luck, good luck, good luck! Fingers crossed for this cycle!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

