IUI#4 Baseline

I went in yesterday for my CD2 baseline ultrasound. No cysts! So happy about that part! My lining was 2mm (thin, right?). After the dildocam was put back where it should be (e.g. not in my vagina), I chatted with the RE about our next steps. First, I asked about my lining. He said the he doesn’t worry about lining — that’s why be puts me on progesterone following an IUI. Okay, if he’s not worried, I’m not going to worry. I have enough to worry about, right?

Next, I asked him what our next cycle would look like if this one doesn’t work. I didn’t want to ask that question because I hope every cycle will be our last, but we have to start planning ahead at this point. My RE feels that I’ve responded quite well to Clomid, but he’s open to moving me to injectables … even this cycle. First he asked the nurse to check if insurance covers injectables for me and then he left the decision up to me. I knew that my insurance wouldn’t cover the meds (they don’t even cover Clomid!) so we continued discussing Clomid vs injectables.

After some thought, we decided injectables are not right for this cycle. This is partially due to the fact that we’re leaving for a remote Caribbean island two weeks from yesterday and the concern is that we have no idea how I’ll react to the meds and there’s a chance my follies might not be ready for an IUI before we leave. And I am not okay wasting a couple thousand bucks on a cycle. The decision to stick to Clomid is also due to the fact that injectables kinda scare me. It seems so serious! You don’t even have to think about Clomid. Actually, I just downed tonight’s 3 pills with a big glass of prune juice (2 birds, one stone)! Easy, breezy.

To top it off, the nurse gave me a discount card for Clomid (read: free) that covered my 15 pills. If this cycle doesn’t work out, who cares?! Nothing out-of-pocket. If we are able to squeeze in an IUI before we go, than that’s icing on the cake at this point.

More on injectables and the plan for our next cycle in an upcoming post. Now I prepare for my yearly pap tomorrow morning that I was hoping would be done by an OB because I would be pregnant by this point this year. Silly me.

4 responses to “IUI#4 Baseline

  1. myndful

    Can’t say anything about lining because my RE only did bloodwork on CD3 and no u/s until CD14. But I say, trust the professionals!

    Sounds like you have come to a decision that you are happy with in this cycle, which means it’s the best one. And off to the Caribbean…I am so very jealous. Have an absolutely wonderful time!!

  2. Yea for a clear scan 🙂 I hope the clomid works for you this cycle. That is so awesome that you guys are going on vacation soon. It sounds great.

  3. Your lining will totally beef up (sounds yuck sorry) after Progesterone, don’t worry. So glad it sounds like you are right where you should be mentally girl, very good news. Looking forward to seeing how this cycle goes, praying, hoping and wishing that it is the one girl! xoxoxoxoxo

  4. m

    I think that’s a great response – not to worry if he isn’t worried. There is only so much any one person can worry about. Save it for remembering your sandals for your trip!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

