IVF, the beginning!

I called and spoke to a nurse today and there will be no need for progesterone! Yaaaaay! If I was right (and my uterus is telling me I am) then I ovulated on Saturday, which means I can expect AF on 12/12. I’ll go in on 12/14 (CD3) for an ultrasound and I was just informed that I’ll start “pills” that day too. I don’t have a Rx for BCPs so I’m guessing that I’ll be taking the Norethindrone pills for 7 days. I won’t actually begin the Lupron until 12/16 (CD5). Two weeks later, 12/31 (CD20), I’ll start Follitism. Timing will work out perfectly, and I can’t imagine a better way to ring in the new year! Well, actually I can think of a better way, but I’ll totally settle for this. 🙂

I hate that I’m always planning everything out to the last detail, but I’m happy that it looks like everything will be fine! Now I can relax for the rest of this break cycle. Less than two weeks and the IVF madness begins!

Another added bonus, I think if everything goes according to plan the ER and ET will end cap a long weekend. It will much easier to take a long weekend off of work (less explaining to do) than to take random days. Whew!

And now for the requisite drugs photo! This does not include the Follistim. I won’t be able to pick it up until I go in for my scan on the 31st. I suppose I also need a sharps container.

BACK ROW: from left to right, Human Chorionic Gonadotropin (hCG), progesterone in oil (PIO), Lupron

FRONT ROW: 3ml 18G1 1/2 syringes, Norethindrone, Doxycycline Hyclate, 25G1 needles

Yowza!

8 responses to “IVF, the beginning!

  1. A

    Gotta love having your very own sharps container 🙂 For some reason I think that (mine) is so cool! Haha!!

  2. Myndi

    Yeah for getting things started, and yeah for ovulating on your own! Woohoo!

    And getting the drugs sure is exciting…and I agree with A about the sharps container. I thought it was so cool I played with it until I accidentally closed it…permanently. Good thing they sell them at the pharmacy. 🙂

  3. Wow at all the drugs. I’m glad your cycle is panning out how you wanted it too. I hope it all goes well!

  4. Julie

    Wow-exciting. I feel positive for you. I just ordered my IVF goods today too! I also have been counting days on the calender trying to figure out what days to take off work. (:

  5. Wow! That’s a lotta drugs 😉 I’m so happy you have a plan! Yay for plans!

  6. YAY for the plan and starting soon…
    YIKES for all the meds…thanks for preparing me, lol

  7. CO

    Thanks for posting pics…I’ve heare that there are many meds involved with IVF, but I never really knew exactly what. This makes it more real and gives me an idea of what to expect should we ever try it.

  8. birdless

    Yowza is right! That’s almost kinda scary, but exciting too!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

