Two Cycles of Waiting

Well, my friends, apparently all that hopeful spotting is simply AF. Yep, I’m pretty sure she’s about to show up in full force within hours. One week after ovulating. That’s never happened to me before. The Clomid and progesterone must have done a real doozy on my body. It forgot how to work on its own! I’ve always ovulated on my own and AF has always shown up exactly 2 weeks later.

This means that December is out all together. We’re out of town for a week at the end of the month and if I started IVF meds on CD2, I wouldn’t be in town to start Follistim two weeks later. If I want to start meds on CD21, I won’t be in town. It’s a lose-lose situation.

I should have insisted that I go on progesterone. I’m so bummed. I am trying to be patient in all of this, but it’s so hard. Maybe our future baby is testing my patience to prepare me for what’s to come once he or she arrives.

I feel like doing this:

UPDATE: AF is definitely here. Husband is helping to slow my tears with Christmas music, tree-scented candles, and an alcoholic brunch beverage. He doesn’t like Christmas music as much as I do, so the minute he put it on I sobbed and sobbed. He grabbed me and we slow danced around our apartment. God, I love that man.

I’ll call the RE in the morning and double check options for this cycle. I’m 99.9% sure we have to wait to start IVF until January.

One good thing is that my cycle was the perfect 28 days. I’m usually around 35 days or so. Maybe I missed ovulation and it happened earlier. I didn’t start testing until CD16, but that wouldn’t explain the ovulation-like symptoms I had last weekend. Hmm, I guess we’ll never know.

8 responses to “Two Cycles of Waiting

  1. A

    Aw shucks, I am so sorry to read this… thank God for good husbands, huh? I love it when I feel so taken care of by my hubby- it is one of the best feelings ever. Hold tight to him today!

  2. *hugs* I’m so sorry. I”m glad you have your hubby to help you feel better.

  3. Jane

    Sorry about the bummer news. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I like your strategy with the music and esp the alcoholic brunch beverage. Hang in there, and enjoy the holiday season!

  4. Oh no, I’m so sorry. I can only image the disappointment. I hope January comes quickly so you can get going again.

  5. RachieD

    Gutted, I really thought you might have got lucky this month from the reports on your symptoms. Big hugs xxx

  6. OK – so this stinks, but…as you keep reminding me: IVF is full of hope!!! So even if you’re starting later that you thought, once you do it, it’s gonna be great! Keep pumping the Christmas tunes and you and I will celebrate this holiday season to the fullest, before baby making in the new year.

    I of course am not trying to downplay your dissapointment, I am really sorry that it didn’t turn out as hoped – I was hoping you’d be one of those “you’ll never believe ehat happened” stories…just wanted to think positively for the future!!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

