Nesting

My little trip home for the holidays last month has left me yearning for the suburbs a bit. Living in NYC is amazing, don’t get me wrong, but there’s something quaint and easy about living in the suburbs. We could live in a spacious home instead of a cozy apartment. We like to cook and wish we could entertain more, but our small apartment makes it difficult. Having lots of space, with a nice new kitchen would be absolutely lovely. More closet space would be amazing! A bathtub that I could actually bathe in (no way am I bathing in my crappy apartment tub) would be the frickin icing on the cake!

Thinking ahead to when I would need to enroll my child in school reinforces my desire to move to the suburbs. I hear getting your kid in a NYC public school of your choice is a pain. Admittedly, I haven’t thoroughly researched schools here but it seems like a huge hassle. And private school is just too expensive.

Alas, I am in love with NYC so I don’t think I’m quite ready for the ‘burbs. I love having everything at my fingertips at all hours — from restaurants to drugstores to markets. And I am kind of addicted to the sounds of the city (some people might call it noise). The suburbs are so quiet. Almost too quiet. In the city, I love that there’s always someone around. It makes me feel safe. When the sun goes down in the ‘burbs, it gets lonely.

As you can see, I’m on the fence. But this is the first time in a really long time that I’ve actually thought about leaving the city. I don’t know if I will, but it’s definitely on my mind. We’ll see what having a baby in the city is like first. As soon as our lease is up this summer, I think we’ll definitely switch to a modern doorman building. This cute brownstone built in 1900 is maybe beginning to lose its charm. 🙂

5 responses to “Nesting

  1. I live in the suburbs and love it. I don’t think I could live in a city though. I hate city driving and feel safer in the suburbs.

    • well i would guess we’ll be back in the burbs within a year or two. we’ll see. i don’t worry about driving (although it would stress me out) because i don’t even have a car! i love it! but that means more walking. and with swollen ovaries, walking around a lot isn’t that fun.

  2. Myndi

    I’ve never lived in a city (ha!) with more than 105,000 people, but dreamed of it when I was younger. Imagined myself living in NYC, London or Paris, but just never happened. As long as there is great public transportation, or I can walk most places, I love visiting big cities (NYC and London are my two faves so far!!), but I can no longer imagine living there.

    Grew up on the badside of town, lived in suburban apartments most of my life, and now living in small town suburbia. I hate it. I want rural. Give me trees for neighbors and a 5 acre lot…but I know those who are used to the city find it hard to part ways. And NYC is so magical….

  3. OMG- DON’T LEAVE THE CITY!!!! You wil FOREVER long for it!!!!! Everyone I know who leaves either 1.) comes back or 2.) says nothing compares and misses it. Plus, my sister SWEARS raising my nephew was WAY easier in NYC then the burbs (whre she is now)…she just threw him in a stroller and ran out easy…now she has to pack the car…do this…do that… DON’T LEAVE!!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

