Good Things

Today, I have seven days of Aygestin and seven days of Lupron behind me, one nasty belly bruise, a couple bitchy outbreaks, and I’m one week closer to FET. But, it’s the weekend and I have yoga, shopping and that sangria brunch planned, remember?! It is destined to be a fantastic weekend.

A few good things happened this week, too. Let me recap for you:

  • My good friend Wishing For One got her BFP today! Please go congratulate her!
  • A terrible hire my company made last month quit this week. We were going to have to let her go, but thankfully she took care of that on her own. What a huge relief. We’re a small company so one bad apple can really upset the cart.
  • My husband had a long chat with his mother and the conversation ended up in baby land. Now you have to understand, this woman (mother of five, one of nine siblings herself) never puts any pressure on us regarding babies. Never once has she said anything to us about starting a family. No one in our families know we’ve been trying; only a couple of my friends have any idea. During their chat, she started hinting to my hubby that we shouldn’t wait too long. She explained that one of our family members has had six miscarriages in 3.5 years (a couple ectopics and a D&C or two) and no successful pregnancy yet. My husband came (somewhat) clean and confessed that we’ve been trying for two years now, we’ve had all the tests and they can’t find anything wrong with us. He didn’t tell her about our four IUIs, our IVF cycle, or the upcoming FET cycle. He had a little breakdown while confessing to his mother and I’m very grateful for that. I get to let out my emotions all of the time, plus I have this fantastic outlet – my blog. He needs a release every now and then, too. He can’t always be the strong one, but he has taken awfully good care of me over the last two years. I’m a very lucky woman. My MIL is a very religious woman and at the end of their chat, she told my husband that she’d move us up to the top of her prayer list immediately. I don’t think there’s ever been a need for us to be on her prayer list, so I feel a little special (and relieved) that she’s aware of our situation and that hopefully she’s pulling some strings for us. It feels good to have someone else rooting for us.

13 responses to “Good Things

  1. How fortunate of you to have a MIL that is not pushy with the whole baby thing. My MIL is the same way, bless her heart (she doesn’t know we are having issues either) But it must be a relief somewhat that she now knows. I’m so glad that she is the praying kind, it never hurts that someone is praying for you. I’ve had a few ladies from church pray for me over the years and it is a real blessing. Though we have not had a BFP yet, but oh what rejoicing there will be with these ladies when Baby comes!! I’m keeping you on my prayer list too!

    • sounds like we’re both lucky in the MIL department! my mom is the pushy one, which has driven me away. funny that my MIL is the one who’s amazing.

      thanks for keeping me on your list too! i’ll do the same for you. 🙂

  2. What a relief for your husband to get it all off his chest and have support as a response. So many of us come here because we either don’t trust that we can get that from family and friends, or because we tried and found we shouldn’t have trusted we could. It is a huge leap of faith telling anyone IRL, and I really am glad that he, and then you, have found some support in his mother. That kind of support and love can’t be matched.

  3. It’s nice to hear that your MIL is so supportive! Happy shopping!!

  4. I don’t think it’s possible to get too much support in this grueling business. I’m glad you have one more person rooting for you!

  5. Jen

    Sangria brunch? Sounds incredibly yummy. Enjoy! I’m glad that your hubby was able to tell him mom at what sounds like the perfect moment. Sometimes just knowing that someone is rooting for you helps. 🙂

    • omg, i’m so glad i get to do sangria brunch at least one more time before i get knocked up in a few weeks. i don’t know how i’ll live without it for 9 months! the food is delicious too, so i suppose i can skip the sangria but it would be so hard!

  6. So glad that your MIL is supportive and a good outlet for your hubby. Hope you had a great day.

  7. katery

    my husband is my rock too, we have been through so much over the past few years, it sure is nice to have a great husband isn’t it? i’m glad yours got to vent a little to his mom.

  8. Hope you’re having a great weekend!!!! and I’m so glad DH was able to spill a little to his mom 🙂

  9. ilana

    So funny- my MIL is religious too. She has been praying for us alot!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

