I Did It!

Woohoo! I did it! I successfully jabbed myself in the butt with a needle!

I prepped the syringe, stood in front of the mirror, and found the spot where I wanted to inject. It took me a few minutes to psych myself up, but after a few deep breaths I just pushed the needle in! It was fairly difficult to push the plunger in. That PIO, even when it’s warmed up, is so hard to push through! Plus, I’m sure my lumpy, swollen, hard butt cheeks don’t help matters much.

Anyway, I did it! Three more times to go before my nurse – er, husband – is back to help.

Now we just need that Thursday beta to be super high. K, girls? K, thanks. I scheduled an acupuncture session for Wednesday night to help keep me calm.

10 responses to “I Did It!

  1. girl you are good. if super s wasn’t around and i needed an injection i would be so SOL. well actually here the pharmacies are 24 hours and there is someone there to give injections so i’d be ok. good for you though, brave, very brave. they will more than double thursday, i just know it! xoxo

  2. I am praying for an excellent beta on Thursday!!! And way to go about the shot!!!

  3. Way to go! I’m hoping for a super duper beta for you!!

  4. katery

    nice work, good luck!!

  5. Awesome!! I’m really impressed. I don’t know if I would be able to give myself the IM shots. The sub-q, no problemo, but the IM, not so much.

    Good luck on the upcoming beta!!

  6. ilana

    ohhh just saw this- so did you do it standing up?

    • it went okay! once i got past the initial fear and just stuck the needle in, it was fine. yes, i was standing up. i did make myself bleed though. usually when my husband does it, there’s little to no blood. i think it was because i couldn’t keep the needle still. it’s hard twisting around and using 2 hands! whew!

  7. have i told you lately that you’re awesome?…you’re awesome!

  8. ilana

    My husband supervised last night but I totally did it on my own! I feel liberated now to not have to always rely on him!haha!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

