A New Award!

Thanks to Genevieve from Spermination Station for The Versatile Blogger award!

For this award, here’s what to do:

  1. Thank whoever gave you the award.
  2. Tell 7 things about yourself that readers may not know.
  3. Pay it forward by nominating 10 bloggers you’ve recently discovered.

Here it goes:

  1. I’m a foodie, but I tend to shy away from certain things. For example, I have weird hang ups like I’ll eat sweet breads (organs!) but not those weird calamari tentacles (I thought they would be too fishy!). I’m working on changing this because how can you be a true foodie if you’re not totally open-minded? Calamari tentacles are totally good, BTW.
  2. I always expect the worst. I think I developed this as a coping mechanism as a child (see #3 & #4). I learned that if I always prepare myself for the worst, then you can be disappointed. I’m realizing this now and trying to overcome this tendency, but I suspect it will take a while to get rid of the instinct.
  3. My parents have both been married three times. My step-dad is my “dad” and has been since I was 11 years old, and I even legally changed my last name to his as a birthday gift to him one year (after I was too old to be adopted). My biological father has been out of the picture for nearly 20 years. It’s kinda weird because when my parents first divorced, my father had a great relationship with my mom and her husband. My father would even spend the night on our couch on Christmas Eve so he could watch us open presents on Christmas morning.
  4. My fear of divorce and broken relationships made me build up quite a hard shell. By the time my husband came along, he had to work pretty hard to break down my walls. After I realized he wasn’t an asshole (if you knew him, you would die laughing that I ever even thought that about him for a second!), I let him in and now we’re in it for life! We’ve been dating for 10 years and married for 7 years next month.
  5. I put myself through college and graduate school. My parents take all the credit, but they never pushed me or cared about my grades or my classes or my area of concentration. I get a little pissed when they brag about my successes because I feel like these are MY successes, not theirs. But I get it. They’re proud of me. They’re entitled to that. I love them and they love me.
  6. I’m the first college graduate in my family. I don’t fit in with my family AT ALL. My husband and I marvel at the fact that I actually got out. Like how in the hell did that happen? How did I come from that? Don’t get me wrong, I love my family but they’ve made a series of poor decisions, they treat each other poorly, they hold grudges, they can be extremely sharp tongued. My family stories could seriously keep Jerry Springer in business for another several years. Oh, and I seem to have inherited my grandmother’s defensiveness. Thankfully, I’m adult enough that when this is pointed out to me as something I need to work on, I can actually take notice and try to overcome it.
  7. I always imagined I’d have four kids: three boys and one girl in that order. I wanted my daughter to have three big brothers watching out for her. Now that time has passed, it’s highly unlikely we’ll have time for four. And I’m not even sure I want that many any more. Hey, an infertile can’t be greedy! I’ll take one please!

Now it’s your turn! I tried to nominate some of you who haven’t already been nominated, but none of you are recently discovered blogs. Oh well, I nominate you anyway because you’re awesome!

  1. Lis from Built In Birth Control
  2. Sooz from The Birds And The Bees
  3. Sienna from It’s Baby Time!
  4. Mrs. A from Remember All The Way
  5. Maddy from A Space Of My Own
  6. Myndi from Tenaciously TTC
  7. Baby On Mind
  8. Reena from Still Waiting For My Sunshine
  9. Mic from IF Crossroads
  10. Kristi from Little Steps To Baby Steps

3 responses to “A New Award!

  1. Thank you for the award!!

    I love reading all the little random facts about people and know that life isn’t just about IF. I always wanted a lot of children, too. Now, I’ll just be happy if I can get one.

    How are you feeling??

  2. Glad you are enjoying your award 🙂 I like your facts, and I understand the family thing….sometimes you have to wonder about them….HUGS.

  3. thanks for this award babes!!! i loved reading your list!!! you should do a list of 100 too :o)

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

