FET #2: 10dp5dt

One line.

I must admit, I’m really surprised that this cycle didn’t work. Especially after near success last time! And no, I don’t regret not putting back three embryos but I can guarantee you that we’re putting back three next time – no question about it. All the embryos we have left are “very good.” If we’re lucky we have two more tries.

All in all, I’m dealing with this just fine. It is what it is and there’s nothing I can do to change the outcome. There’s nothing I could have done differently. I feel mad at my uterus, though. I’m sad for my husband. We both want this so badly.

I used a FRER so today’s test should be accurate (I tested at 10dp5dt last time and got a very strong second line). I think I’ll discontinue meds immediately so AF shows up sooner. I suspect she’ll be here by Thursday and I can begin FET #3 right away. I’ll also call tomorrow to schedule my first ever WTF appointment for Wednesday, following my beta on Tuesday. I can’t believe I have to wait until Tuesday to confirm what I already know.

So what questions should I ask at my WTF appointment? I’m definitely going to ask about immunology testing. Maybe adding IVIG or heparin will help with implantation. I know it’s controversial, so I bet my RE doesn’t support immunology testing and treatments. I might have to push for that one. Maybe we’ll even look into PGD, but I don’t know if we have enough embryos for that. I’m not ready for another fresh IVF cycle, but I’m curious what my RE thinks. I’m also going to ask about a medicated FET cycle that follows my natural cycle, such as taking Clomid, triggering, and then doing the transfer 5 days later. Maybe my body needs to feel like it’s actually ovulating. Maybe another IUI with injectables would be good to try, too. What would you add to the list? I’ll do some research between now and Wednesday, but any advice you can offer would be great.

I haven’t spent much time thinking about plan B during this cycle; however, now that we’re staring plan B in the face I better get planning. I purposely didn’t want to plan for the worst case scenario (since I always tend to do that) and I wanted to stay as positive as possible this cycle but if FET #3 doesn’t work, I want next steps in place. I’m going to start researching new REs in NYC so any suggestions you have in this area would also be welcome. I’m specifically looking for one who has lots of experience in solving unexplained cases. I hope we don’t have to go there but I want to start scheduling appointments for second opinions now. What will I need for these meetings – just records from my current RE? Maybe the lab reports for my embryos too?

Wow, I never thought this would be me. Two years and nearly seven months of TTC, four IUIs, three rounds of IVF cycles, countless acupuncture sessions, one miscarriage, and no baby. Unexplained diagnosis (bullshit! there has to be something wrong!). Oh, and to top it off, today I turned 35. Happy Birthday to me. Thank God I have a strong marriage and the best husband in the world. My DH is my saving grace. I love that man.

Thanks for all of your support and well wishes. You can uncross your fingers and toes now. I’ll let you know when I need them again.

Off to salvage my birthday! I’m thinking there will be lots of sex, champagne, and exercise in my future! Well, maybe only a little champagne. I think I’ll stay off the sauce for the most part. Man, I’m getting boring! No caffeine! No alcohol! Snore!

20 responses to “FET #2: 10dp5dt

  1. maybe no caffeine or alcohol! but a lot of sex sounds great. thinking about you. xo.

  2. ugh babe. i’ve been checking in all morning (woke up at 6am) hoping to hear good news for you. first off – happy birthday. i KNOW this is going to be a good year for you, it just sucks to have it start off this way. big hugs to you. sending you a long email in a minute, so go check!

  3. Girl I am sorry. If I lived in NYC I would take you out for a big FU universe cocktail. I know, know, know your day in the sun is coming.

  4. C

    crap. I’m sorry. I don’t know what clinic you’re at in nyc, but I’m always good to chat about the switch we made–(i live north of city but went in for cycles) which finally got the results after 5 failed ivfs/fets at the other place. will be thinking of you today…

  5. lis

    oh no! this is terrible news. i am SO SORRY to hear that this stupid FET didn’t work. i had high hopes for you.

    im right with you on stopping meds immediately. that’s what i have been doing, and last time it still took a week for my damn period to show.
    i really wish things were different now but just know that someday they will be and all of this will be just old memories and not your reality anymore.

    but it will not have been for nothing.

    because you will be a mom. i just know it.

    xoxo
    lis

    • yeah, the last couple cycles it took about 5 days for AF to show up after stopping meds. i feel guilty stopping because maybe, just maybe, but i know the test was right. oh well. screw it. better luck next time, right?

      we will both be moms, lis. i know it, too. xo.

  6. Ugh. You must be so disappointed, and I am so sorry. Wish I had some words of wisdom, but I got nothin’. 3 next time sounds like a good plan, and researching alternative clinics does as well.

    Hope you find a way to have a happy birthday. 🙂

  7. I am so sorry sweetie…

  8. silver

    oh hun i am so sorry 😦 indulging in all those pregnancy no-no’s sounds really good though! happy birthday!!! you can go swimming in the ocean too! sirm is all about doing lots of tests and they take on difficult cases and i really like them. if you want more info you can just email me.

  9. Ugh. I’m so sorry about your BFN. It does hit hard. I hope you were able to enjoy your birthday today just a little bit.

  10. OH! I can’t believe it…I’m so sorry. I know how hard that BFN is and to top it off a 35th birthday. If it’s any consolation, I’ll be turning 35 in 2 weeks, so I’m right there with you.

    I just want you to know that we’re here for support. I don’t know of any specific docs in NYC, but I know that Sienna is seeing a doc at Cornell and he seems to know his stuff.

    Hang in there, girl.

  11. I am so very sorry. I am glad you found ways to celebrate your birthday. Thinking of you.

  12. thank you to all of you. every time a new comment comes in, i feel a virtual hug. you ladies are all so fantastic. xoxoxo.

  13. Gracie just recently went to a doctor in NYC that seems to specialize in “unsolved” cases. She wrote about him here: http://gracieinbrooklyn.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/long-overdue/

  14. Ugh, I’m so sorry that you got a bfn. I hope you have a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

