Lost My Shit

No, I didn’t mentally lose my shit. Someone else lost my shit…

One of the REs I’m meeting with for a second opinion wants to see my files before we schedule an appointment, which I love! He’ll be educated about my situation when we sit down to talk. I was able to get all my files, including my husband’s SA and the embryology reports, from my current RE yesterday and I already have a copy of my most recent pap. All that’s missing are the films from my HSG. You know, the test that effing sucks? Yeah, that one.

Well I called to request my films earlier this week and yesterday I received a call from the head of radiology at the hospital where I had the HSG done. Yeah, you know it can’t be good when the head of radiology personally calls you. The hospital apparently LOST my HSG films, along with 9,999 other people’s films. Can you believe this shit?! THEY LOST MY HSG FILMS.

I don’t know about you, but this test was very uncomfortable for me. I do not want to ever have this done again. The head of radiology offered to personally speak to any doctor to verify that the test results came out all clear and that the most experienced doctor at this particular hospital performed the test and when she says it’s normal, it’s normal.

Oh joy.

12 responses to “Lost My Shit

  1. ugh, that SUCKS. i don’t really understand why they want the films (all the 2nd opinions i had wanted to personally see them as well, so i was walking around town like a douchebag, carrying around this HUGE envelop), but anyways … i just don’t get why the hsg report isn’t enough. that exam was the worst and most painful experience of my life. boohoo.

    hmmm, i wonder how you lose 1000 films?? theft?

  2. I don’t understand how they could have lost something like that, especially if it was yours plus a gazillion others?! Isn’t that some kind of HIPAA violation or something? I’m trying to imagine how you lose that many films…what’d they do? Keep them in a shoebox?

    I really hope that you don’t have to do another HSG…It definitely sucks.

    • apparently the hospital was transferring a bunch of data and there was a loss caused by human error that lost over 10k files. and of course, mine had to be one of them. i guess the films were actually electronic. so much for the new age! i would prefer to do things the old way if i knew this was going to happen!

  3. Hi…stopping by for ICLW…

    That so sucks! How frustrating for them to lose your films…hope you don’t need to go through the HSG again!

  4. Omg. That is not the test you want them to lose. I so would not want to have to do that again and I haven’t even done it the first time. I hope the doc listens when the radiologist says it’s all clear.

  5. That test was so horrendous that when I had my pap done I thought it was FUN!!! Kill the hospital. Okay, maybe not kill, but that doc better make a personal call!

  6. Here for ICLW! You have got to be kidding me that they lost the results from the WORST test ever. I can say I would never go through that test again – uncomfortable doesn’t even begin to describe it. Hope the RE will take the radiologist for his word to spare you that experience again.

  7. Oh my goodness! Hopefully their word is good enough and you don’t have to go through it again..
    ICLW

  8. When I was interviewing IVF docs one of them wanted my HSG films. I went all the way uptown to retrieve them, then carried them home, then carried them to the appointment. When the doctor pulled out the film, he looked at it for literally 2 seconds, then said “Yep, that looks all clear.” It was very anticlimactic.

    So, anyway, it’s never easy, is it?

  9. katery

    that totally sucks, the hsg was awful for me. i really hope you don’t have to do it again.

  10. The HSG for me, back in the day, was not bad, LOL I know I am probably like the 1 in a million who can say that huh? Anyway I am sure the new RE will take the word of the hospital, he will not be needing you to take another test girll don’t worry! I am getting an email together to send you later, this next FET will be THE one girl, I know it. Happy Friday! xoxo

  11. I can’t believe that they lost your films…that is nuts!
    Hopefully your appointment with the new RE will go well and you can feel like you have a plan that you are comfortable with. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

