Operation Coming Out Of The IF Closet

Let’s abbreviate it as OpCOOTIC moving forward, mmmkay?

Well, that was easy. The very first person (a coworker) I came out to is about to begin IVF with his wife. I wanted to tell him because I was tired of making up white lies for why I can’t travel for work. He hugged me and I hugged him back.

I knew that would happen. I knew IFers would come out of the woodwork.

I also met up with a friend for “wine” last night (she was drinking, I was not) so I ended up coming out twice in one day. This friend doesn’t have any personal IF stories of her own to share, but her brother and his wife have an IVF baby and are trying for #2 via IVF right now. I’m so glad I told her. It helped her fill in all the holes. She knew I had been acting differently over the past several months and she was beginning to think it was something she did. She was awesome. I promised her I’d stop being a weird stranger who builds high walls. She promised not to ask what’s going on too often – a lesson she learned from her experience with her SILs repeat IVFs. She also thanked me for opening up because it helps her have more empathy for her SIL.

So strange. My world is getting smaller – in a good way. 🙂

Xo,
R.

9 responses to “Operation Coming Out Of The IF Closet

  1. As Grace once said on Will and Grace “I told you so I told told told you so.” It’s amazing and awesome to see how it changes the way you feel and how others act around you. Your friend was probably so relieved that it wasn’t her and now she can support you big time. Before you know it you will be telling complete strangers when they ask when your going to have kids. But…really you won’t have to because your going to be pregnant in a couple weeks.

  2. That is so awesome you told two people and both times it ended well 🙂

  3. This is wonderful news! And thank you so much for all of your fabulous comments! I am now sending you tons of baby dust!

  4. Yep. That’s exactly how it was with me too. Coming out of the closet was just…easy. Everyone understood and was sympathetic. Doesn’t it feel good?!

  5. Oh yeah. I saw your comment on my other post. I don’t have bed rest. My RE doesn’t think it’s necessary. She says to avoid anything that would cause extra uterine cramping for 3 days post-transfer, but other than that, carry out normal activities the day after transfer. But it probably wasn’t the best thing that my son was bouncing on my stomach the day after the transfer for FET #1. Sigh. This time I’ll be more careful (which will be easier because my husband won’t be out of town immediately after my transfer).

  6. lis

    lovely. i wished support for you and am so gratified to see you receiving it.

    thank you for the amazing comments, i think i just may need a real hug one day!
    xoxo
    lis

  7. Jane

    Congrats on making the plunge! It sounds like OpCOOTIC got off to a great start!

  8. Pingback: OpCOOTIC Part 3 « venting vagina

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

