Booyaaa

While at the lab for our July transfer, I overheard someone ask if they could get a discount if they paid in cash. Make mental note.

Fast forward to this cycle, I decided to give it a go. It’s time to pay my RE for his part of this cycle (we’re all out-of-pocket except for anything diagnostic like blood work and ultrasounds), so I asked if I would be eligible for a discount if I were to pay in cash. The billing coordinator had to check and call me back. She finally called back and they can offer me a 15% discount if I pay with greens! If I had only known this back when I started IUIs – or when we did the expensive fresh IVF – I probably would have saved enough to fund an entire cycle! Okay, probably not an entire cycle but at least a decent chunk.

I still have to pay the lab fees, which won’t happen until the day of the transfer. I’ll take cash and see if we’re able to get a discount there too. Fingers crossed!

Just thought I’d share as a tip to help those of you out-of-pocket people.

Woohoo! I love a great deal. Even on baby making.

P.S. The transfer is one week from today!

12 responses to “Booyaaa

  1. WOW, 15% is pretty great!! I guess if you don’t ask, you won’t know 🙂

  2. Whaaaa?!?! That is AWESOME, way to go eagle ears!!! Huge score. xo

  3. ummm, discount for cash … hmmm, i could *guess* the ethnicity of your doctor, if i didn’t already know :o) hahahahahahahaha!!!!

  4. hahaha, if i didn’t already know. the discount for paying cash would give me a HUGE guess as to the ethnicity of your doc :o)

  5. I didn’t know anyone still did cash discounts! That is fantastic news! 1 week!!! Exciting!!!

  6. Jessica

    That is awesome!! My old RE gave us a 50% discount just because we were paying 100% out of pocket…it never hurts to ask!!

  7. Lumpless ass: heating pad on ass with PIO tucked in between pad and ass before injection until the PIO is good and liquid. Massage or heating pad again afterwards, perhaps both. Try that 🙂

  8. It better be worth it…that is what we all tell each other, right? It is worth it. Sorry you are prone to lumps 😦

  9. I think it’s sort of sad that our doctors have to offer discounts. I wish every state of the union offered mandatory insurance coverage for infertility treatments. I’m so lucky I live in MA.

    As far as the lumps go, you should see if it’s an option for you to use progesterone in ethyl oleate. That’s what I use and it’s MUCH MUCH thinner than the regular progesterone in oil and goes in easier. Also, my husband massages the injection site for about a minute and that seems to help a lot. Just my 2 cents. 🙂

  10. Wow, I’m going to try that! Except… then I would miss out on my credit card miles!! oh no, what to do…. 🙂

    • haha! it’s a tough choice but the 15% ended up being more than i would have gotten in credit card points so i went for it! besides, i’ve earned enough frickin points throughout this stupid IF journey!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

