Testing. Testing.

I’m so excited about my new RE. But wanna know what I’m NOT excited about? Shelling out a shitload of cash. Being out-of-pocket SUCKS! I’ve tried really hard to not add up everything we’ve spent to-date just to get a chance at making a baby (I haven’t done this yet), but this is seriously getting ridiculous. Like really fucking ridiculous. It’s not fair!

Okay, now that I got that out of my system…

We met with the new clinic today and all of the tests I want are being ordered for me:

  • DQ Alpha (genetics)
  • Natural Killer Cell Assay
  • Thrombophilia Panel: Activated Protein C Resistance, Protein C Activity, Protein S Activity, Prothrombin 20210 Mutation, MTHFR, Fasting Plasma Homocysteine Level (Cardiac), Factor V Leiden (DNA), Anti-thrombin III Activity, Lupus Anticoagulant (LAC), Plaminogen Activator Inhibitor – 1 (Activity), Anti Cardiolipin Antibodies (ACA – IgG, IgM, IgA), Beta-2 Glycoprotein (IgG, IgM), Phosphatidylserine (IgG, IgM)

They are also recommending PGS (preimplantation genetic screening) where all 24 chromosomes are tested by removing a single cell from all day-3 embryos. If results are good, we’ll transfer at day 5 and freeze the rest. This is a very pricey decision. We have to think about it a bit. I have read that some clinics don’t see this test as significantly increasing the odds of a successful pregnancy. Anyone ever had this done with success? We have to decide no later than Monday if we want to move forward with PGS. (We have to pay in full on Monday, 9/13. Ouch.)

I am meeting with the nurse tomorrow to discuss my calendar (and hopefully get some donated meds!). I am still waiting for AF (I expect her tomorrow or Saturday, and I have the headache to prove it) and then I have to schedule the hysteroscopy between CD5 and CD12. My new clinic cycles people together, which I find interesting so they’ll likely have me start BCPs as soon as AF shows up and then start Lupron on 9/17. ET and ER will be sometime between 10/11 and 10/24.

Wow. This is really happening. Here we go again. For some reason I can’t get this song out of my head.

10 responses to “Testing. Testing.

  1. Our friends did the the testing – they call it PGD here – out of 18 embryos only 3 were normal. they put back 3 and now they have having triplets.

    so while i know it doesnt always help, it definatel can rule out any issues.

    good luck with making your decision

  2. I personally don’t know about PGS but my clinic here in DC does it and they are big proponents when there isn’t success after a seemingly “perfect” cycle like the ones you had.

    I have a friend who had her first BFP after doing PGS with my clinic (Shad.y Grove) – she attributes the BFP to the PGS, but yes, it’s super expensive.

    You are totally right, being OOP sucks balls. My accountant gasped when I turned in my invoice from Shad.y Grove last year to write off my medical expenses on my taxes. He couldn’t believe that one person could rack up such a bill in 12 short months … I had to remind him that others have much higher bills than me.

    One day you will have something to show for all this cash you are shelling out …. I wholeheartedly believe that for you.

  3. Oh yeah, and they actually call PGS (PGD) here as well.

  4. silver

    i can’t remember how much pgd is? but if the tests show you have immune or clotting issues, then i’m pretty sure it’s that and not bad genes. pretty rare to have both.

  5. sienna

    hey babe – do you read inconceivable journey? she did pgd testing. she had 22 eggs retrieved and then 2 embies ended up being good, according to pgd. so in her case, WELL worth the test. she just did her FET last month is preggo now.

  6. Wow that is a lot of tests. I recognize some of them from my job. I really hope that these tests come up with an answer so you can be pregnant already.

  7. Will be praying that all your tests reveal any problems that can be addressed so you can have a healthy baby!

  8. Kate

    Let us know what you find out about PGS. My clinic doesn’t do it. I’ve really had to PUSH my dr’s to get more testing done. They don’t want to do any testing b/c I was able to get pregnant w/ my son. I am scheduled to have another HSG and uterine biopsy. Have you ever considered going to CCRM or Cornell?? I’ve been doing research about it…

  9. My clinic does PGD and has a ton of info on its site about it (IVF1.com). I’m pissed as hell that you are sinking so much money into it, but very very very hopeful that between all of these tests and bells and whistles, you’re going to find that golden eggie and get your baby!!! Let the test begin. BRING IT! xo

  10. PS Oct is so soon! YESSSSSSSSS, this is happening. And really, really, really soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

