FAIL

We just left our WTF meeting with our old RE. I wasn’t expecting much but it’s now safe to say that he completely under delivered on our already low expectations. Kinda hard to do, if you ask me!

He had absolutely nothing to offer. He told the story again about a woman who had 6 failed fresh IVF cycles and one FET before she came to him and he saved the day by putting in 6 embryos. (Not convincing at all.) You can probably already tell where this is going (Sienna is probably seething at this point). Yep, we just need to be more aggressive with the number of embryos we put back. He did say that perhaps even though we make lots of perfect embryos, we may have many abnormal embryos and he walked us through PGD and I kinda got excited for a minute that he might have an idea that makes sense as it relates to actually getting us pregnant. But nooooo. He said he doesn’t recommend PGD because it “causes a 50% decrease in pregnancy rates” but if we’re interested, he can refer us to a different clinic.

Flabbergasted. No recommendations at all except more embryos.

Then he suggested we take a break (ah, you’re a little late smartypants) and he went so far as to suggest we take a vacation and “you might even get pregnant.”

He wrapped things up by saying that when we’re ready he’ll give us free stims. We did not tell him we have a new plan with a new doctor.

We practically ran out of there! Ahhhh, Calgon take me away!

12 responses to “FAIL

  1. What a d-bag. I mean….geeeeez. That’s ridiculous.

    So so happy you have a new awesome RE!!!

  2. Good that you have a new RE, oh my, take a vacation and you might get pregnant???

  3. I am sooo glad you are heading to a different RE. Good luck sweetie!

  4. Dang. He was NOT helpful at all. I’m sorry and hope the new guy is better!!! You know what I’d really like a RE to do? Apologize. Say he’s really sorry. That he really hoped that this would work. In my experience, that NEVER happens.

  5. Jen

    Wow. Thank goodness for the new clinic!

  6. My jaw dropped when I read your post. Your fertility doctor basically told you to “just relax”!! WTF?!! And how does that advice jive with the fact that he wants you to be more aggressive about the number of embryos?!! I’m so glad you’re switching to a new RE.

  7. cgd

    I am so glad that you have a new RE lined up. How infuriating is that!! I have been my share of frustrating RE meetings, but this one takes the cake for sure. Ugh!!! 6 embryos, really?

  8. sienna

    no, the part that makes me angry is that he said that you guys should go on vacay. wtf is that about???? “just relax … and you’ll get pregnant”. UGH.

  9. Jessica

    I can’t believe your old RE told you to take a vacation and you might get pregnant!!! Glad to here you are going to someone new!!

  10. My jaw dropped too! I would have completely snapped at the just relax comment. Thank goodness for your new RE!

  11. Nicole

    Id def say massive failure! Glad you are dropping them, decision well made!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

