OpCOOTIC Part 2

(OpCOOTIC = Operation Coming Out Of The IF Closet)

Earlier last month we decided that it was time to stop bottling this all up. So far, we are so glad that we’re starting to open up to friends and family. Every single person we’ve shared our news with thus far has been so understanding, so warm, so kind, so loving. We have no regrets (yet).

Here’s the latest on who we’ve spilled the beans to:

  • My soon-to-give-birth to #2 BFF
  • A co-worker and a dear friend mentioned in my original OpCOOTIC post
  • Another dear friend who is actually a single mother of twins (she was rooting for triplets on our last FET)
  • My boss – he cried when I told him and he hugged me for a long time. So touching. I had to come out of the closet to him since it will be more difficult to hide appointments with my new RE.
  • My sister-in-law who’s currently 20+ weeks pregnant after several miscarriages

I’ve been doing all the spilling of the beans and I really wanted my husband to have a turn and that’s the best part: he got to tell his parents this past weekend! OMG, it was so special. His parents were so amazing. SO amazing. And hubby finally got to get it off of his chest. HE finally was able to talk about it. I’m so thankful that I have such an awesome husband and such fantastic in-laws. I’m truly a lucky, lucky girl.

Wanna know the next to best part? They’re insisting on paying for a portion of our cycle! I don’t even care about the money (I would personally pay for this cycle and many more to get our baby), but the gesture is just so completely moving. The thought that someone would want to go out of their way to help us realize our dreams of parenthood it just breathtaking to me. I am so so so grateful.

My parents are visiting this week so I plan to tell them as well. Might as well let the cat out of the bag to both sets of parents in one week! I think my parents will be shocked that we’ve even been trying. I think that they think we don’t want children. Little do they know. Wish me luck!

12 responses to “OpCOOTIC Part 2

  1. cgd

    Yay! so glad that this has gone so well and that you and your husband have received much needed support. I have found such positive reactions when we tell people. At minimum, I feel it gives an explanation for things so that people do not just assume I am a crazy, bitch 🙂 Your in laws sound amazing!! That is so touching. Good luck with your parents this weekend, I hope you are met with as much kindness and support.

  2. Jane

    Yay!! Glad to hear that your experience has been so positive! Good luck with the next one.

  3. Cool. It’s much nicer to not have to keep IF a secret. When I was doing IVF and had so many doctors appointments, people started to think that I was very sick (like with cancer). So it was a relief for them to hear that I was okay. As I mentioned before, everyone was really understanding and amazing (so similar to what you’re experiencing). I’m also glad that your hysteroscopy went okay and that your uterus is perfect!

  4. I love this post and am very happy your getting the love you deserve. How amazing to have in-laws like that? Before you know it they will be telling their friends and their friends will share their stories.

    Good luck this weekend I suspect your parents are going to have the same reaction.

  5. Jen

    I am so incredibly happy for you. Having the support of people who love you makes a such a difference. I love the reaction of his parents and your obvious love for your hubby. It is good for them to get it off their chests, just as it is for you. Yayy!

  6. I still can’t believe that you have gone through as much as you have all without sharing any of it. Insane! But I am proud of you, and it seems like it’s going really well!!!!

  7. It’s so freeing to let the cat out of the bag! I’m proud of you guys! It’s so awesome how your in-laws are so there for you!

  8. HopeBPatient

    So glad this is working out for you! Doesn’t it feel like such a load off your shoulders when you can tell someone and you no longer have to make vague references (like for work) about why you can’t do something? And I’ve had nothing but understanding and support from everyone I’ve told. I’m glad you’re experiencing same. There are still a few people whom it would be easier to tell but I just don’t think I can go there (e.g. some professional colleagues). And it still bugs me sometimes to that people are maybe speculating about what’s going on with me, but really, I’m trying not to care what others think (and to realize that they probably don’t actually think it about it all that much.)

  9. That is so awesome that everyone you have told has been so supportive and nice. You are brave for telling them too. I haven’t told my husband’s parents, but I have thought about it.

  10. Pingback: OpCOOTIC Part 3 « venting vagina

  11. thecrazycatwoman

    We are TOTALLY out of the closet. For me it’s easier that way, I’ve decided. I’m not good at bottling things up.

    BTW, I am a similar age as you, have done a similar number of cycles to you and have been TTC for about the same time so I’ll be following your blog with particular interest.

  12. Pingback: OpCOOTIC Part 4 « venting vagina

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

