The Plan

During my first IVF, my husband gave me most of my injections – both subcutaneously and intramuscular. Over time, I took over the subcutaneous injections and he handled the IM ones. As we approach IVF #2, I asked him if he’d be interested in taking over all of the injections so he felt like he was more a part of what’s going on. We decided that I’ll stick to handling the subcutaneous injections and he’ll handle the IM ones. His main focus will this go around will be taking good care of me, making sure my stress levels are kept low, making sure I’m eating right, and making sure my cravings are fulfilled. Sounds like a plan to me! I love my husband! We’re the best partners on earth!

IVF #2, I hope you’re ready for us! Baby, here we come!

Kinda adding to my post from yesterday, I think I’ll come up with some visualizations that I can use while I’m doing injections or swallowing pills. Something that reminds me why we’re doing this. Something that keeps me grounded to the fact that we will be parents – that this will be the time that works. After all of these cycles, I sort of got into a rhythm of normalcy. I don’t want to be comfortable with injections. I want to have every injection be a reminder of why I’m doing this. I’m not injecting to inject, I’m injecting to get pregnant! I have to remember that every needle signifies being one step closer to our baby. I have to get out of my comfort zone and into my baby baking zone!

P.S. Have I told you how happy I am that we decided to take a break? I needed this time to sort through my thoughts and truly prepare for what’s next.

8 responses to “The Plan

  1. I did most of my injections in our second cycle and for the third one, we decided the same thing: that hubs would be way more involved and do them. You know what? They hurt less when hubs does them! 🙂 I loooooove your visualization idea. Bring it on: imagery, deep breaths, yoga, meditation, soothing music, warm baths, back rubs, and anything else that makes you feel good.

    Zen zen zen zen. xoxo

  2. Your plan sounds perfect. It’s awesome to see a husband and wife working together the way a marriage should be.

    Perhaps you could have pictures of super cute babies around the house to remind you why your going through this.

    IVF #2 look out she’s got you by the horns and she is going to win this time.

  3. Love that plan. Your husband sounds like a good man 😉

  4. You guys are going to do great! It sounds like you two have the teamwork thing down to a fine art (remind me to share this with my husband!).

    And I hear you on how wonderful breaks are! I couldn’t believe how much better I felt after the 4 month break we took between IUIs and our IVF – it was like going back to a normal life, and I hadn’t realized that I COULD go back to a normal life!

    Oh, and you’ve reminded me that I need to post my review of circle + bloom, since I used that during my IVF cycle. I’ll give you a small preview: I liked it!

  5. That is pretty much how hubby and I handled it 🙂 Poor guy felt bad if he drew blood. You really do sound excited and at peace, for which I am very glad! Go you!

  6. Hey–thanks for your comments. Sometimes I think a break would help us…but other times I worry that it would just stress me out to lose time with my “diminished ovarian reserve” haunting me. I asked my RE about some of the testing you all have done and he says he typically only does it for people w/ recurrent pregnancy loss. Grr.

    I’m such a freak I couldn’t let my husband give me the shots b/c I would just get mad at him. I like feeling like I am choosing to cause myself pain rather than have it inflicted up on (my own issues, and probably tied to the MFI issues).

  7. That’s exactly what Doc and I do! I actually prefer doing the sub-qs myself. It’s faster and easier, but the IM’s are too difficult. Can’t contort my body enough to see where I’m shooting in my booty.

    The visualizations are a great idea! I think I’ll try that myself. 🙂

  8. cgd

    I am so glad that you took the time you needed and gave yourself a much needed break. Your plan sounds great and I am glad that your husband is helping with the injections and this is helping you feel that he will be invovled. Here to hold your hand through your cycle.
    P.S. thank you so very much for all of your support this week. I have no words for how much this means.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

