Acupuncture, Take 2

You know I quit acupuncture right after FET #2 because I was getting sick of the process. I was sick of the needles. I was sick of the routine. I was sick of talking about it. I was sick of the constant reminder.

Since we’re approaching IVF #2, I really want to give it my all. Pull out all the stops, so to speak. (As if you haven’t guessed from this post.) Well I decided to start acupuncture again but this time with the acupuncturist affiliated with my clinic. This is awesome because on transfer day I won’t have to commute back and forth – acupuncture will be done right there in the clinic. He wants to focus on my liver qi stagnation, which I’ve been told about before. He said this particular stagnation can manifest itself in very different ways such as extreme irritability or infertility. I wonder if I’d still be infertile if I was a raging bitch? Maybe I should try it. 😉

doesn't this sort of look like our internal lady bits?

He gave me a list of foods to eat and ones to avoid with the goal being to tend to my garden, if you will, with a specific focus on the stagnation. The more I fertilize it and give it sunshine, the better it’s going to grow and nurture my goods. The foods to eat list sounds totally up my alley, many of which I’m already eating. Lots of protein (red meat!). Cooked warm foods. Leafy green veggies. Beans and nuts (the “seeds” for my garden). The avoid list is interesting. No dairy. No cold or raw foods/vegetables. No sweets. No fried foods. No spicy foods. I love the latter three of these so very much. Siiigh, but I will definitely give it a go. I should be eating better anyway.

He said to think of eating right like putting money in the bank toward a successful cycle. Every good day can only help our chances of success. I am going to make a big pot of delicious soup this weekend so I can bring my lunch every day next week. That’s why I eat bad foods — I eat out too much.

He’s also contemplating herbs for me and we’re going to discuss it next time I see him. I especially love that he primarily sees fertility patients. This is what he does all day so I’m hoping he’s perfected his art.

Wanna know the best part? He and his wife were a patient of my RE. They had a happy ending. God, I hope I get mine too.

3 responses to “Acupuncture, Take 2

  1. cgd

    This sounds great. i have done acupuncture as well, I love it, but am taking a break b/c it was getting very expensive. I feel great during and after sessions. I think it is amazing that ther eis one in your RE office and that that your medical team is open to these alternative treatments. I can tell my RE is not so into it. Good luck with this.
    You so deserve your happy ending too!!!!

  2. I would LOVE to be eating healthier. Between job, finances, and constant ick…sigh. you go, girls. The buck stops with you 🙂

  3. silver

    i’ve seen that dude in the clinic a couple times, he seems nice. i didn’t know he was a pt, that’s really neat! ugh, that diet sounds really tough. good luck sweetie!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

