ICLW October 2010

[Oops, just realized I’m a day early! :)]

Well hello there and welcome to Venting Vagina! I know, my blog name is slightly offensive but IF has lots to do with vaginas and we all know the extreme need to vent comes along with IF. So there you have it! Read at your own risk.

You can read the gist of my story in the left side bar and you can get details on my current and past cycles here. I’m just starting IVF #2. I’ve been on a much-needed break since FET #3 BFN at the beginning of September. I’ve been on nasty BCPs for 5+ weeks already and I’ve been spotting for almost 2 weeks. I start Lupron on Saturday (yay!) and stims on 11/3. I get lots of acupuncture and I’m taking Chinese herbs this cycle, too. Oh yeah, I’m also trying the Circle + Bloom IVF meditation series (so far, I love!).

Since we transferred a total of 9 (“perfect”) embryos over 4 cycles and didn’t get a sticky pregnancy, we decided to do a lot of testing this go around. We’re unexplained and we’re ready for some answers. Hysteroscopy looked great and biopsies came back normal. Immune testing came back fine. Karyotyping came back fine. Thrombophylia panel came back fine, except for one tiny thing: I am homozygous for MTHFR c-mutation. This means I need to take extra Folic Acid, B6, B12 and a baby aspirin (I think) for the rest of my life. My RE doesn’t think this is the reason why we haven’t been getting pregnant so we’ll treat it and keep looking for answers. The only remaining test is to do CGH embryo testing, and we’ve decided to do it. Maybe all my perfect embryos are crap?! We shall see.

Here’s to hoping MTHFR treatment and CGH get us our baby, finally! (Man, that’s a whole lot of nonsensical letters in those weird acronymns.)

One random fact about me: I may be a yankee, but I can turn on a great southern accent. I lived in the south senior year in high school through college.

Tell me a random fact about you and be sure to let me know if you have a blog so I can follow along!

7 responses to “ICLW October 2010

  1. Holy crap is it ICLW already again? I didn’t even realize it. I may have to sign up this month.

  2. I would love to follow your blog if you want to follow mine that would be cool. You went to school in the south? Huh mabye that’s why I like you so much.

  3. Happy ICLW! Good luck this cycle. IVF #2 for me starts at the end of November.

  4. thecrazycatwoman

    I think your blog name is the best title I’ve come across. It brings to mind images of a 10 foot high talking vagina! Hilarious. 🙂

    I’m interested to hear about all the further testing you’ve done and I’ll be following to see how the embryo testing pans out. Our embryos are also apparently “perfect” but I’m beginning to doubt that! And what dose of Folic acid, B6 and B12 are you on?

  5. Thanks for checking out my blog! BCPs are nasty! I am starting on them tomorrow! (And it took me a year to get them out of my system in the first place)! I look forward to following along!

  6. Happy ICLW! It’s amazing how different our protocols are for our cycles. I am glad you don’t have to spend the money on BCPs for on silly pill! My RE gave me a free pack. I figure the drug companies give them to them. Which to be honest, it seems weird that a drug rep for BCPs would visit and RE office and give free samples when you know that no one is going to take more than the free sample. But, whatever!

    Have a great weekend!
    Emby

  7. Sarah

    Hello, I’ve read your blog from start to this point in about 3 days. I am a surrogate and was researching random bits of info and stumbled across your blog. I am truly inspired by your positivity! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

