Getting Warmer

I feel like I’m a broken record, but WOW! This is really happening! [Insert huge smile here.]

I met with the nurse yesterday. She walked me through all of the injects up until trigger. I guess I get another injects class as we get closer. I already knew most of it all anyway. I did learn a little bit though. I had been doing Lupron at a 45 degree angle, but I am now told to do it at 90 degrees. She also said to leave the needle in for 5 seconds after injecting and don’t rub the injection site after to reduce bruising. She also said not to stress about what time the meds are injected. Lupron: between waking up and lunch. Follistim: between dinner and bed time. Luveris: after Follistim. Easy, peasy.

She gave me some free Follistim (every little bit helps!). And for more great news, she told me rather than refilling my Rx for BCPs for one measly pill, I can stop when this pack runs out which is MONDAY! That’s only 3 more pills, people!

While we were there, hubby and I also got our blood drawn (bringing my total vial count to 28) for GSN, the lab conducting our embryo testing. I guess a genetic counselor is supposed to call us within a week. Oh joy. Man, when the time comes, I really hope those little suckers (aka, embies) come back normal.

The acupuncturist associated with the clinic is amazing. Yesterday (yes, I spent 3 hours at the clinic because I had 3 appointments back-to-back on one day: acupuncture, blood work, injects class) I had the best session of my life. I felt high after! The herbs are kinda gross, but not too bad. I chug ’em down anyway.

So it’s official, official! I don’t go back until my baseline on 11/1, a week from Monday.

Lupron tomorrow! 10 units in the morning! I also start Dexamethasone. The nurse told me to take with food. Someone told me to expect to be irritable, get really hungry and gain weight from this one. Anyone have any experience with this steroid? I’m a tiny bit scared. Mostly for my husband.

P.S. I’ve updated my ticker to countdown to stims! 🙂

P.P.S. I’ll post more detail about my protocol soon for anyone who’s wondering. But mostly it’s for my records. I like to document.

P.P.P.S. I’ve been so bad at commenting this week! I’ll explain more soon! I’ve been living like a 20-something!

7 responses to “Getting Warmer

  1. Yea, I am so excited for you! You are just about ready to start things! I hope this goes really well. I’m interested to hear about the steriod because when I was thinking about the ivf clinical trial they mentioned that. I think I might end up on that if this cycle doesn’t work.

  2. Jen

    How exciting! Keep documenting everything so I know what I will be doing in January!

    Regarding your comment on my blog…we talked to our RE about testing the embryos. He said that if there were enough to test they would do it. Last IVF I only had 4 that made it to blasts. He will only test if there is more to work with. I guess that makes sense.

  3. sooz

    I’m so excited for you!! I know this will work and we’ll be joining Sienna.

    I’m also glad that you were able to score some free meds. This path is not only emotionally and physically exhausting, but also financially exhausting and every cent helps!

    And lastly, tell us the details on how you’ve been living like a 20-something!! This sounds like a blast! 🙂

  4. thecrazycatwoman

    Oh it’s so exciting to be starting injecting isn’t it? Good luck! 🙂

  5. I have been totally MIA as well 😦 So excited things are really getting rolling for you!! Awaiting amazing news in a month or so 🙂

  6. Just came across your blog. You sound so excited for your IVF!!! I love the countdown. My husband and I plan on start our first IVF cycle next month (BCP should begin the 1st of November). I’m excited as well, and also hope to have some acupuncture treatment. Good luck with everything! I’m very happy to be following your blog now and look forward to reading about your journey. 🙂

  7. Wishing you the best of luck this cycle. Routing for you!!!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

