IVF #2 Protocol

For anyone who’s interested…

Ongoing:

  • Daily – Taking Folgard (2.2mg) and baby aspirin for MTHFR and also taking prenatal, fish oil, vitamin D
  • Getting acupuncture once or twice a week. I’m also supplementing with Chinese herbs. I started Xiao Yao Wan on 10/7 to help with my liver qi stagnation. I switched to Jia Wei Xiao Yao Wan on 10/19 which is the same stuff with a little extra added (Jia Wei) to also help with heat issues. I may or may not continue through stims.

IVF #2 Protocol:

  • 9/14 – BCPs for 6 weeks (all active pills)
  • 10/23 – Lupron (10 units) in AM*, Dexamethasone (0.75mg) with biggest meal
  • 10/25 – Last BCP
  • 11/1 – Baseline Ultrasound and E2
  • 11/2 – Decrease Lupron (5 units)
  • 11/3 – Follistim (225 units) in PM*
  • 11/5 – Decrease Follistim (150 units), Luveris (0.5 vial)
  • 11/8 – Ultrasound and E2
  • 11/10-11 – Probable HCG injection
  • 11/12-13 – Probable Egg Retrieval
  • (Biopsy embryos on day 3)
  • 11/15-17 – Probable Embryo Transfer

*AM means anytime before lunch. PM means anytime between dinner and bedtime. Luveris always after Follistim. This method will greatly help me reduce stress. In the past, I’ve always stressed about being so darned exact (and look where that got me). Not this time! Relax. Breathe. Inject.

For IVF #1, I stimmed for 10 days at 300 units of Gonal-F. If I respond similarly, it looks like ER will be pushed to week of 11/15. We shall see. I’ll get more precise instructions at my appointment on 11/8.

Some interesting findings for the new meds I’ve never taken before:

  • Dexamethasone: From Wikipedia – “Long term use of dexamethasone … is widespread among prostitutes in Bangladesh in spite of the dangers, because it helps them grow fat easily, an attractive feature in this poor country.” Awesome. I’ve already been told to expect weight gain and irritability. (Sorry husband. Just remember that I love you!) However, I’ve read good things about this steroid helping pregnancy rates so I’ll gladly take it!
  • Luveris – I guess this similar to Menopur, which I know many of you take, except it’s pure LH rather than LH/FSH. In my research, the ladies love the Luveris in terms of getting pregnant.

7 responses to “IVF #2 Protocol

  1. Thanks for the breakdown, it’s nice to have a better idea of what I’ll be going into in January.

    And LOL (sort of) on the Dex. What a bizzare little factoid.

  2. Jessica

    Looks like you are only a week behind my in our cycles. Did you decide to do the embryo testing??

  3. looks like you’re all ready to go!!! enjoy your last days of not being preggers :o)

  4. You are definitely on some drugs I haven’t heard of, so here’s hoping this new protocol will do the trick 🙂

  5. Wow, that is a lot of dates to think about. I have no idea about the herbs so that is pretty interesting. Good luck!

  6. Stopping by for ICLW. I’m also doing IVF #2 just a couple of days behind you. Good luck!!

  7. silver

    i don’t think the dex made me hungry or gain weight, but coming off it is a real b*tch. they say steroids cause slight insomnia is some people so if it does you might have to switch to the am. watch out – luveris burrnnnnns hope you had a fun weekend, tues 9ish works for me

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

