Update and Thanks

Woohoo! Guess what I did this morning? I took my last BCP! Hopefully the last BCP for the rest of my life! Now maybe a real AF will show up so I can get this spotting crap over with. Spotting, it’s been a real joy getting to know you these last 3 weeks.

The Dexamethasone isn’t making me hungry or gain weight (yet) but it is making a restful nights sleep difficult. The first day I tried dinner, yesterday I tried lunch so today I took it with breakfast. Hopefully that will help. Coming off a cold, I need all the rest I can get.

Thank you so much for your comments and emails with advice on how to best deal with my mom. I’ve decided to pretend I don’t think she’s a nutjob and support her as best I can. That will require very little effort from me over the next month which is exactly what I need to be able to take care of myself. It’s just so hard to see her weird thought process and her self-pity. What happened to my strong mother? She made me like I am, so how did she lose it? Oh well. Not to be cold-hearted but it’s not my problem. I have to focus on positivity at the moment and I hope I can send some of it her way.

I have the email written and one day I will say those things. One day soon. And with time, maybe some of the sharp edges on my words will become smooth. Maybe over the holidays in person? Honestly, I sort of don’t want to go home this year. I want peace and love with my hubby … and baby in my belly. Too bad we couldn’t go home just to see my ILs. (Our parents live about 1.5 hours apart.) My mom already compares time spent with her and the ILs. Sigh. I’m so glad I moved.

I know she needs to realize she needs help herself. I can’t force her to do it. This is so challenging, but you’re right — I’ll focus on supporting my dad and my brother while reinforcing that they should not enable her. Jesus. I hope she can find the light at the end of the tunnel because I feel terrible for her.

Back to my regularly scheduled program of peace and zen and breathing and meditating and growing healthy eggs.

6 responses to “Update and Thanks

  1. yaay to the last bcp!!!!! wahoo! so happy you’re getting this show on the road. you’re rested, you’re healthy. new RE. i’m excited!

    i just saw your post on your mom. glad you’re gonna let it go until this cycle is over at least. you don’t need any added stress right now. just tell yourself that when you *do* talk to her, that she’ll be really understanding of what you guys have been going through, and that she’ll try to put her own issues on the backburner to be there for YOU. positive positive thoughts, R!! meanwhile, i’ll be keeping fingers crossed that your mom is able to work out all her issues and starts to do better. that’s a lot for your dad to be dealing with, but i’m glad he’s been there for you at least.

    this time next year, shall we have a playdate in central park?? xoxo.

  2. so excited for you as you get further into your new protocol!! praying for you as you deal with your mom (HUG)

  3. I wish we could go to in-laws as well, but not so much. I have never been so excited to have to work on Christmas. Hang tight, lovey. HUGS!

  4. YIP YIP YIP!!! seeeeee ya, BCPs!!!!! 🙂

    I can’t even imagine how hard it is to deal with all your Mom’s drama in the midst of your IVF cycle, but I think your strategy to put this deep, intense, emotional convo on hold is SO SMART. Time to put yourself first, my friend.

    I am so hopeful for you. YESSSSSSSSS to having a babe in your tum come Christmas time. Thinking of you every day and praying and hoping for the awesome-est cycle (a sticky BFP) EVER. xo

  5. Jessica

    Yay…no more BCP. I spotted for 2 weeks on them too! I take my Dex with breakfast and haven’t had any trouble sleeping. GL!!

  6. Yea for the last birth control pill!!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

