Should I or Shouldn’t I?

So this summer, after my failed FET #2 I went in for a hair refresh. I got a trim and added some fun highlights around the sides of my head (so you can’t see a growth line on top of my head). Well now I’m sick of said highlights and I usually go a dark chocolate-brown for the fall anyway so I’m trying to decide if I should color my hair or not. I should preface this by saying that it would be a semi-permanent color (I don’t want growth lines on top of my head while pregnant!) so it would fade over time but still cover up the highlights, and there’s not bleach or anything involved since I’d be going darker. My nurse said it’s fine to color your hair up until trigger.

What do I do when I’m usually in a conundrum? I reach out to you lovely wise ladies!

8 responses to “Should I or Shouldn’t I?

  1. This is a difficult decision. I am also debating when and what to do with my hair. I thought I read somewhere that you could highlight your hair when pregnant but that you couldn’t put an all over colour on it. I have no idea if this makes any sense but if for some wild reason it is actually true then perhaps skip the all over colour??

  2. lis

    hey friend
    i go through the same dilemma every time myself. i love how i look with highlights, but with the rate that my hair grows (and now, falls out) it just isn’t cost effective or smart to keep getting them. especially before a transfer. i just recently dyed my hair permanently my natural hair color or the closest i could find to it. so i chose darkest brown by garnier. not semi-permanent, so that when it grows in there won’t be a noticeable root.
    either way im sure you will look beautiful!
    xoxo
    lis

  3. If you’re looking for opinions, I think it is TOTALLY fine. This is one of those areas where you should not hold up your life due to IF. At this point, you aren’t pregnant and any chemicals in your hair aren’t going to affect your growing/maturing eggs. I’d listen to the nurse. I stressed over the fact that I have to take Zyrtec during my pregnancy (stupid hives!), but everyone assured me that it would be fine. JUST DOOOOOOO IT (and make yourself feel pretty!)

  4. Jen

    Do it before you get pregnant! Even though the doc said it was okay to color it during my pregnancy, I couldn’t bear to do it!

  5. Your hair is still one body part that you have complete control over it. I say do it! Spoil yourself and feel pretty.

    On a completely different note… I have never had luck colouring over highlights with semi permanent colour. I usually get a washed out look and it fades fast. I always end up back in the chair for more highlights!

  6. Do it and do it soon. Just to give some time for the chemicals to “air out”. I’ve decided if this next round doesn’t work out, I might treat myself to some hair or…maybe botox??? Horrible, right?

  7. I agree with the others and say do it before you get knocked up, then you’ll have great hair and be pregnant!

    I also think if it’s what you want to do, you should do it. Spoil yourself and make yourself feel good. 🙂

  8. thecrazycatwoman

    I’d do it. It will make you feel good and if the nurse says it’s fine I’m sure it is.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

