Egg Retrieval

Well things went smoothly this afternoon. I wasn’t nervous or anxious at all. As a matter of fact, I was downright calm and relaxed … and even excited! Plus, I felt like I was in really great hands. Nothing to stress about.

Eight eggs were retrieved. This is what I expected so I’m feeling pretty good all around. My RE feels good about this too. He feels strongly that I was pushed too hard by my old RE for IVF #1 and that we’re looking at quality this time.

So far I have no signs of OHSS and compared to how I felt last time (so uncomfortable and couldn’t sleep without sitting up), this is a breeze. I’m crampy but that’s to be expected.

Now I rest and get pampered by my husband. We’ll get the fert report tomorrow then we’ll decide whether or not to proceed with PGS/CGH testing on the embryos. If we have too few, the doctor might recommend against it. We shall see.

All in all, I’m extremely pleased with this cycle and my new clinic. I’m annoyed that we got so many eggs/embryos last time because I feel like we wasted so much time. Oh well. Hindsight is 20/20. I hope we get to test these little suckers but what will be, will be. And even if we don’t test, I have a feeling this batch is way better than last time. I’m very, very hopeful (as if you couldn’t tell) but knowing the feeling of pain and disappointment all too well, we made the decision to sign up for the 2 cycle plan today just to be safe.

More tomorrow!

P.S. When we left the clinic today, a lady stopped me on the street to ask if I was wearing perfume. I was not, but it did smell good in the vicinity. I joked to my husband that I should have replied, “Why it must be my very fresh new baby smell, you’re smelling. So fresh my baby was literally just made!”. Haha.

11 responses to “Egg Retrieval

  1. yaaay, 8 eggies!!!! fertilize little ones, fertilize!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! everything crossed for an EXCELLENT fert report tomorrow. email me when you hear please!! i will be waiting in suspense :o) xoxo.

  2. Oh I am so excited for you and DH. I am so glad it went great and you are getting pampered. Your body has worked hard and earned a break.

    I look forward to the next 2 weeks of waiting.

  3. 8 eggs is TOTALLY awesome! Quality over quantity, baby! My fingers are crossed for a great fertilization rate!

  4. Jessica

    Glad things went well and you are feeling much better than last time. Enjoy being pampered!!

  5. I’m so glad everything went so well and your feeling so calm. You will have to teach me how to do that. Enjoy your night 🙂

  6. lis

    so excited and holding hope for you! i am right there with you on quality over quantity. im glad it went well and i LOVE that scent you are wearing 🙂

  7. That’s great news! I am glad that you were so calm! I hope mine goes as well tomorrow!

  8. cw

    that is an eggcellent collection :p you sound so serene! fingers crossed and love that you have an amazing smell!! I was talking big whiffs of my 7 month old nephew today. babies smell so beautiful!

    i just downloaded my circle and bloom and will start listening tomorrow!!

  9. Congrats on 8 eggs! You sound so calm and positive – good job!

  10. cgd

    great news!!!! Rest up and keep us posted on the fert report.

  11. Those eggies are so solid, I just KNOW it! I’m sure they fertiliized beautifully overnight. Keep this awesome Zen vibe going, you are doing fantastic!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

