6w Ultrasound

Did you hear that? Yeah, that was my exhale. I’m back to my regularly scheduled breathing program and I have to say, it’s awesome. Breathing is good.

Facts:

  • Two. Holy shit. There are two.
  • Baby A measuring 6w0d with a heartbeat of 113
  • Baby B measuring 6w1d with a heartbeat of 114
  • Doc says everything is right on track for 6 weeks
  • My husband and I are officially shitting our pants

Multiples was something we always wanted to avoid. Remember, for IVF #1, we opted for a single embryo transfer? After 4 failed transfers including 4 embryos for FET #3, I never would have thought that embryos #10 and #11 would both stick. Hell, I wasn’t even sure one would stick! We’re in a bit of shock at the moment so please bear with us.

Please understand that this doesn’t mean that I’m not absolutely thrilled that we made it this far. I am pregnant! I have two heartbeats in my womb! I am so lucky. I am so so so SO thankful. I just also happen to be a bit scared.

Holy shit.

47 responses to “6w Ultrasound

  1. I have been reading you blog for the past little bit. Congrats on your ultrasound. I COMPLETELY understand your shock and fear of multiples. I had IVF Twin Boys back in 2008. Till this day I look at them and think about the day we found out that there were 2!!!!! All I can say is to take a few minutes, hours or days and truly let it sink in!!!! Cant wait to read what is to come!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! (And I knew it!!!) It is scary, but you’ll do JUST fine. My sister survived twin boys. You can do it too!

  3. C

    stalking you stalking you stalking youuuuu,,,,(been checking since like 130…ha…) Congrats, honey! And one day at a time. Just like the process of getting pregnant. One day at a time…and you’ll make it through.
    xxxooo

  4. HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been waiting for this post and am SO excited for you! I have to tell you that I was also completely freaked out about 2 and STRONGLY considered only transferring 1 embryo during our early IVF attempts, but when i became pregnant with twins, I couldn’t imagine my family any other way (after the initial shock wore off). Now of course, your story is going to turn out much better than mine, but i promise that you will feel like this is how it was meant to be. You are going from no babies to a full family in one shot…and you are going to be GREAT!!!! CONGRATS, Momma!!!

  5. PCJ

    I KNEW IT!!! congratulations!!!! i’m dancing around saying i knew it, i knew it… haha… so happy for you. don’t be afraid! embrace it! it was meant to be…

  6. Congratulations!! OMG!! I knew it!! Your beta was too high for it not to be multiples. Shoot — I should’ve put a wager in. 😉

    I can’t wait to find out if they’re pink or blue. I’m so happy for you!!

  7. Congratulations!!! Doesn’t surprise me in the least. Happy, happy day!!!

  8. okie – i strongly sense that you are having twin boys. just sayin, but i tend to be psychic. i am soooooooo freaking happy for you.

    thrilled thrilled thrilled for you wahoo! xoxoxoxo.

  9. Thrilled for you! I totally know where you are at right now. Give yourself time to absorb the news. The good thing is that you’ve got 30 weeks or so to get used to the idea. Congrats!

  10. Jen

    Yay!! I have been waiting for your post! 🙂 Congrats!!!!

  11. Holy shit is right honey, lol. So thrilled for you!

  12. I TOLD you, with those numbers! I am jealous! I know it’s freaky, but congratulations!

  13. CONGRATULATIONS!

    Twins are great, because in terms of pregnancies…you’ll be “one and done”!

    They also have such a special closeness.

    Dont be scared, you have made it this far…and you are so full of determination, hope and love for your babies. They will be a piece of cake compared to fertility treatments!!!

    SO happy for you!!!!!!

  14. First off, CONGRATULATIONS!

    Second, I completely understand the shock of finding out it’s twins…. despite having transferred more than one embryo. I promise you will get used to and then embrace the idea. Welcome to the club!!!!!!

  15. Jem

    (Told you so!! Your numbers were so high!)

    Okay, now that we got that out of the way, I am super excited for you!

    Of course, if you don’t want one of them, I’m sure one of your followers will take one!!

    (Keep breathing!)

  16. oMGOSH. How exciting (well from my end). I can understand that it is a scary thought to process. But I for one am so happy for you and will be hoping and praying for a healthy pregnancy!

  17. I KNEW you had more than one in there. I am so happy for you that they are both healthy and doing great!! I was thinking about you all day and I tried checking online, but I couldn’t get wifi access. So thrilled for you and thanks so much for your emails! I really appreciate it.

  18. cgd

    wow!!! congrats to you!!!

  19. Holy sh!t … well double congratulations!
    xo,
    Mic

  20. Myndi

    I know 2 isn’t what you were after, anymore than 3 is what we were after, and I know (trust me!) how scared you must feel right now. I spent the first trimester and the early part of the 2nd more scared than anything and trying like hell to not let it show.

    But my mind worked it’s way through the initial fright, wrapped itself around our new reality, and sitting where I do now, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    It’s a financial drain, the pregnancy is a physical and emotional one, but I would be shocked if you had any regrets when all is said and done.

    Life has a funny way of working itself out. Give yourself time and permission to sort things through.

    And congrats! You’re pregnant! pregnant! pregnant!

  21. congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I must say I’m jealous! I always wanted twins! take your time & let it all sink in! I’m super excited for you! 🙂

  22. Two beautiful heartbeats. Congratulations!!!

  23. KHBetterTogether

    Woohoo Congrats and breathe 🙂 I can’t wait to follow your journey

  24. Congrats! And you can do this and it will be fantastic. I just had twins myself 10 months ago and I was so scared but it has been so wonderful.

  25. Oh, I think your having girls!!

  26. Sarah

    I am so so so happy for you. I just read you entire blog in a few days. I can’t explain the amazing energy I feel! Congratulations!!

    Not sure what I’m going to do with all of my free tine now…. Lol

  27. Yay!! I am so happy for you. I was out of town yesterday but kept wondering about you and your u/s! Congratulations!!! I totally understand feeling nervous about having more than one. I had panic attacks at first. But it will sink in and you will be okay and warm up as it goes smoothly along! SO excited for you!!!!

  28. lis

    congratulations, friend.

    i knew it!

    xoxo
    lis

  29. Sarah

    Now you can get some of those coordinating twin sets you posted about a while back 🙂

    Congrats! I am so so happy for you.

  30. HOORAY! I’m SO excited for you!! I’ve been a lurker (as I am on most blogs) but have to tell you that this is wonderful! I just turned 40, and I had my fraternal twin girls on Nov 4, 2010 via c-section, and it’s been so so great- better than a dream come true. I too was scared but SOOO excited when I was pregnant with twins! And I had an absolutely complication-free pregnancy- my girls were born full- term (37 weeks) and were not preemies. The c-section was awesome (I have nothing to compare it to but don’t be scared if you have to do a c-section– I had to bc of my girls positions: complete breech and transverse). They came to be via IVF also. Just take good care of yourself: best advice I can give you is stay hydrated (and you will be god-awful thirsty to you will drink a lot) and get lots and lots of sleep. This is going to be a fun pregnancy and birth for you!! Enjoy every minute of it- you deserve it! And again, CONGRATULATIONS!! Twins are marvelous!!

  31. Congratulations!! I am so excited for you!! Twins are amazing. My B/G twins just turned 3. It has been absolutely amazing!! Very excited for you…..will continue to pray for you and the babes;)

  32. That is wonderful-exciting news! Congratulations!

  33. OMG!! It’s so exciting!! Congrats!!

  34. katery

    yup, we all knew it! so awesome, the idea of having two will take a little getting used to, but after they are here you wouldn’t want it any other way.

  35. Jaime

    OMG! That’s wonderful! But if you’re really freaked out about having two I’d be willing to take one off your hands! 🙂

  36. That’s wonderful news! I can understand the excitement and fear all wrapped up together. You’re going to love it. It will be so hard, I am sure, but so wonderful. What a blessing. Take care of yourself!

  37. Jane

    Congrats! So exciting!
    Since some others are putting in their guesses, I’m going to put in my guess for 1 boy, 1 girl.
    Enjoy your pregnancy! 🙂

  38. WOW!! I, mean, really – WOW!! And I totally get shitting youself!! Congratulations!!

  39. onefifthfox

    OMG! Wow! Lucky you! Don’t be afraid – it’s the most special feeling in the world to be outnumbered in your own body by your babies! Congratulations! xxx

  40. finch

    Congrats! 2 healthy, perfect heartbeats! I think we all suspected twins after hearing your crazy high betas. But what better place to find twin advice and support than here? You’ll do great!

  41. ilana

    i am so glad i just peaked at your blog!congrats!
    that is awesome and just think if you guys ever only wanted 2 kids you will be done in one swoop!

  42. YIP YIP YIP!!! Sorry to just respond, been in your fair city and just got home. 🙂 Soooooo happy for you! I was shaking for hours when we found out it was twinsies. Total and utter love and joy for the crazy life we suddenly have built for ourselves quickly displaced that shock. 🙂 Welcome to twin-land my friend! Can’t wait to follow your journey!! AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

  43. I think i physically felt your exhale. very happy for you!

  44. Hey preggo, are you okay??? You don’t normally go nearly a week without posting….I am worried…

  45. Pingback: VV Review in 2010 « venting vagina

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

