9 weeks and Farewell 2010

I can’t believe it! I’m 9 weeks pregnant today. Various sources say the babies are the size of a green olive (yum!) or a grape (yum!). Crazy!

I am so happy that today is the very last day of this dreadful year. Get outta here, 2010! Don’t let the door hit ya! You sucked! We dealt with (and spent a shit load on) IVF repeatedly starting in January. We dealt with a miscarriage. We dealt with the loss of three grandparents. We didn’t take a real vacation. 2010, I have to say that you came through in one area though: we’re pregnant. And it looks like it’s gonna stick. For that, I am grateful. But still, good riddance to you!

Now 2011, expectations are high so you better be prepared to deliver. Vacations are being planned. Relationships are strengthening. A healthy pregnancy is being nurtured. A delivery is on the horizon. Parenthood will soon begin. 2011 is going to be all about positive transitions. You in? Okay, then let’s do this!

As for me, I’m still feeling great. I love being pregnant! I think I was made for this. I don’t have morning sickness but my mom never had it either. Guess I’m one of the lucky ones. The girls have finally started growing a teeny tiny bit. The only thing I don’t love so far is the constipation which set in in the last week or so. But no real complaints. I’ll gladly take what comes my way. I’m still hungry nonstop. I’ve started protein shakes to help with both hunger and the calorie count. Hopefully they’ll help with my middle of the night hunger too.

I’m sad to leave my RE. He was fantastic and I felt so well taken care of at his clinic. Well I guess you gotta grow up sometime! I’m still on PIO and suppositories until 1/15 and then I wean off the steroid the following week. Close to no more needles!

I already met with one MFM OB that I really liked but I wanted to meet another as well to ensure I’m making the right choice. I’ve researched a few others but thanks to Sienna I think these two are my top options. I have an appointment with MFM OB #2 on 1/3. I see OB #1 again on 1/12. I have my NT scan scheduled for 1/21 which will be 12 weeks exactly. I still have a post in the works about how I feel about sharing our news outside of our immediate family. More on that soon.

I’ve been reflecting a lot lately – I guess it’s that time of year. I find myself in an emotional place I never expected to be in. I hope I don’t jinx myself, but here it goes.Throughout the past 3 years, I’ve followed many journeys to the road of pregnancy. I feel very different than I expected; very different from how many of you have described. After pregnancy was achieved, I expected to be chained to infertility. I expected to be living in constant fear. But here I find myself for once in my life not expecting the worst. I’m happy to be leaving infertility behind. I don’t want infertility to define me for the rest of my life. I don’t want it to define my pregnancy. And I feel free and content. I’m positive and optimistic. This pregnancy feels so right and I am not living in constant fear. I’m excited for ultrasounds instead of panicked. It’s hard to explain but I’m so happy this is how it’s turning out for me. I was so worried things would be different. Now I won’t kid myself — I do realize that things could still go wrong. I won’t be able to completely exhale until this pregnancy transitions into parenthood. That’s what this is all really about, right? Holding our babies in our arms after 9 months? It’s not really about pregnancy. It’s about parenthood. That’s the real goal. In the meantime I’m just going to enjoy what I worked so hard for and hope and pray that I’m rewarded on (or around) August 5, 2011.

With that I suppose I’ll leave you with … HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! I hope all of your hopes and dreams come true in 2011. I’m confident that this year will be fantastic all around.

Xoxo,
R.

10 responses to “9 weeks and Farewell 2010

  1. What a year it’s been for you! Have a very happy new year and cheers to being pregnant in 2011!

  2. Julie

    WOW! Congratulations! It sounds like you are in such a great place right now. You are going to be such a great mommy to these babies.
    Enjoy every second of this pregnancy. For me, it was like Christmas morning every day, and continues to be now.
    Here’s to new beginnings (and adventures!) in the New Year! (-:

  3. I love your amazing Zen! I am still not there at almost 25 weeks. šŸ™‚ But I aspire to be and I’m glad you articulated how you’re *really* feeling. It’s awesome not to be anxious, embrace that peace and happiness! xoxo

  4. So glad that your feeling great about this pregnancy and doing so well. So happy for you. Happy new year!!

  5. silver

    woohoo yay for 2011! what protein shakes do you drink? everything that i’ve tried tastes awful

  6. I’m so happy for you and that you’re loving the pregnancy! I can just imagine how difficult it is to really let go and enjoy those precious moments. Let’s give 2010 a big kick in the ass and say yay for 2011 and all the wonderful things to come!!

  7. I am so glad you are feeling so wonderfully! It took me until now (6 months) to feel that good, LOL. Yay for 2011 being better and full of changes. Oh, and Aug 5 is when I had my ET, and one day shy of my birthday, so it’s a good day šŸ™‚ Is that 40 weeks or adjusted for the twins? Happy New Year mama-san.

  8. I love this. I’m going to come back to this post when i need help feeling this way.

  9. So proud of you for being so positive! You are truly an inspiration to me! Every time I read one of your posts or comments on my blog, it makes me take a deep breath and realize I need to RELAX! I am counting down with you to the date of no meds! And can’t wait to hear about your nuchal U/S!!

  10. I am glad that you aren’t living in fear. This may be a dumb question, but what does MFM stand for?

    Take care and happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

