Four Left!

I only have four PIO injections and four suppositories left! Yay! My butt is very excited! My vagina is excited to be free of goop constantly dripping out of it! Double yay! The only party who will be sad will be Kotex because I will be slowing my purchase of panty liners. 🙂

Starting on Sunday, I taper off the Dexamethasone for one week and then I’m med free! Well…with the exception of prenatals, Folgard, and baby aspirin. Oh and Calcium. My OB wants me on an additional 2,000mg of Calcium daily. I looked it up and it looks like with multiple pregnancies it can help prevent preeclampsia and preterm labor. Fine, I’ll take it.

I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I am a tiny bit nervous about stopping the meds but many pregnant IVFers stop sooner than I am and they’ve gone on to carry healthy pregnancies so I’m going to block the worry out of my head. Everything is going to be okay.

 

8 responses to “Four Left!

  1. I hate to be a party pooper, and maybe it isn’t the same for everyone, but…I wore pads/pantiliners more during my pregnancy than I did when I wasn’t. Discharge was too heavy to go without something (hate feeling wet all day!). And then I graduated to bladder control pads…I hope this isn’t the case for you, but just thought I’d mention it. 🙂

    And I am super, super excited that you are doing so great!

  2. My clinic had me stop the suppositories the day I had a positive beta so over four weeks ago so don’t stress, you will be fine!

  3. Congrats on stopping the PIO shots! I did mine for 10 weeks too, so I have sympathy for your butt! I was also nervous, but things are going fantastic for you! So happy to hear it 🙂

  4. AWESOME!!! So excited for you! More milestones!!!

  5. Totally freaked me out to stop the supps, too! My OB clinic had me stop them between 11 and 12 weeks. It will be okay! Nothing bad will happen!!

    Oh, and they also put me on iron and calcium (apparently twin moms need more of those minerals) and took me off the baby aspirin.

  6. silver

    yay for finally getting rid of that darn sharps container! and you probably will be naturally producing goop in no time…so kotex will still stay in business haha

  7. My shots stopped at 7 weeks, but they switched me to oral progesterone. I’m not sure how helpful oral is, but I know just how you feel. I was so nervous the first few days, but everything has gone just perfectly since then.

    It is amazing how nice it is not to have to schedule that stupid shot every day (twice a day for me), and I’ve never done suppositories, but I’ve heard they are almost worse than the shots. Congrats! Your mini-hormone factories in your uterus are up and running.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

