Genetic Counseling

We met with our genetic counselor on Tuesday due to my “advanced maternal age.” I was prepared for DOOM and GLOOM but it was actually fine. She walked us through the various genetic diseases we’re at risk for, as well as options for screening and diagnostic testing — how it works and the risks involved. Then we dug into the nitty gritty with our family histories.

Because I’ll be 36 (I better not deliver before my birthday in mid-July!) when I deliver, I’m at a higher risk of having babies with Down’s Syndrome and other genetic diseases. However, the good news is that because there are no major risk factors on either side, karyotyping was done on my husband and I before this IVF cycle, and because we did embryo testing, our risk is much lower. Because of that, assuming all goes well with the NT scan next Friday (fingers crossed!), we’ll likely skip the invasive diagnostic testing. I have been poked and prodded so much already just getting here. Besides, although I would love to know for sure that everything is okay, my fear of miscarriage is much higher than my need for knowledge.

Now that that’s out of the way, maybe I’ll go take up quilting or something “advanced maternal age” appropriate.

7 responses to “Genetic Counseling

  1. cgd

    Good luck with your NT scan, so glad you on the track so far!!!!

  2. I don’t know where you find stuff but it hilarious, the picture that is.

    I’m of advanced maternal age too so I guess that makes us mature, responsible, perfectly made to be mothers. I certainly wouldn’t make a perfect mother when I was 21.

  3. Jane

    Uh, I hate that term! …but I like your photo of it 🙂

  4. i have part 2 of my anatomy scan on the 21st also. what time is yours? maybe i’ll see you there. mine’s in the AM :o)

  5. I have my meeting on the 24th. I’m nervous, but at the same time, for some reason, these issues are not on my worry list. Of course, that doesn’t mean anything, but for the moment, all my worries are focused on the baby having a heartbeat at each ultrasound. 🙂

    I’m with you on the invasive testing. I’m more scared of miscarriage than genetic issues. I’m not going to terminate the pregnancy anyway, so it really comes down to just knowing before the baby is born. The risk does not outweigh the benefit for me.

  6. HA! I love that picture.

    We just had an appt with the genetic counselor today, too and she told me the exact same things. So fun getting told that you’re old…

  7. bwahaha that’s what I feel like! 🙂 The ancient mother! I know you guys will have an perfect NT scan, and it’ll be so awesome to see the little one again!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

