Grooming The Bits

I used to be a regular waxer of the lady bits. Every 3 or 4 weeks, I dutifully went in for the full removal of all hair from down there. It has been quite a while — November to be exact. You can imagine how gnarly it has gotten down there. Like so gnarly that gnarly is the exact appropriate word to describe the situation. The situation was so bad, I was ashamed to let my husband see me naked. And I felt gross. I hate having hair down there.

So at 11w1d, I decided to go for it: The Long Overdue Brazilian Bikini Wax. As I trekked the many blocks cross and downtown, my tension was building up. I had heard so many horror stories about pain when waxing while pregnant. On my way, I had the unfortunate displeasure of smelling a guy who smelled like fish sticks. That was almost enough to send me home. Blech! Well, I made it. I went back to the room and stripped from the waist down and then my lady came in. I told her my news right away and she was SO excited for me that she hugged me…twice! My vagina de-hairing lady has never hugged me so this was quite the momentous occasion! She was absolutely tickled pink (or blue) for us! So cute.

Now on to the details of the actual wax. I’ve always timed my waxes to happen right after AF when you’re less sensitive down there. As you get closer to AF, things get more sensitive and the more sensitive, the more painful. Since I am not expecting AF for a very long time, I didn’t have anything to gauge wax timing. I was nervous! But, I would have to say today was as painful as getting waxed right before AF. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Whew! What a relief! I mean it wasn’t pain-free, but it wasn’t terrible either. My legs were really shaky after but I don’t know if that was because I was nervous or what.

And then something magical happened. As I was paying, I noticed tingling down there. I think waxing brought life back to my vagina! Amen! I felt something! I’ve been a closed up nervous nelly since ET back in November and it feels wonderful to know that there’s actually blood flowing down there! And I feel clean and neat again! And beautiful!

8 responses to “Grooming The Bits

  1. I had to LOL b/c I got a brazillian today as well and I was happy that my c-section scar provided some numbness along my entire pelvic region for the act. I’ve been waxing for like 3 years and I have no plans on ever shaving again and it’s so nice to have a clean slate, YKWIM? In fact, it means for me that there will be fun had this weekend 🙂 Glad you’re feeling that way too 🙂 🙂

  2. Nicole

    I am really curious to see what you think about a
    brazillian at the end of your pregnancy when there is so much more
    of everything down there. I can’t wax when I am pregnant. It hurts
    too much, even just the bikini line.

  3. Hooray for cleaned-up lady bits! I got a regular bikini wax for the first time ever before our trip to Cancun and it really wasn’t bad at all. The eyebrow and lip waxing hurt way worse!

  4. Yay! You are a brave soul! But, in the end it’s so worth it…I hate it when I get lazy and don’t get my monthly wax.

    I wonder if the two little beans knew what was going on?

  5. katery

    aw, well i’m glad you are feeling like yourself again down there, but i do wish you wouldn’t feel so terrible about having a little hair there from time-to-time, i mean, i like to keep myself neat and trim as well, but it IS natural to have hair there after all!!

  6. Glad you’re feeling so good! You are so lucky not to be feeling exhaustion and nasuea at this point which are both so common.
    Unfortunately I don’t think the waxes will be so pain free later in your pregnancy as there will be crazy blood flow down there! You wont mind though because by that point you cant even see your crotch. (-:

  7. Enjoy it while you can still see those lady bits! Eventually they will disappear…trust me…

  8. I’m glad it went well and you feel all nice and clean! Yay for a short week with an ultrasound at the end!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

