12 Weeks & NT Scan

Yay! Today is 12w1d so less that one more week until we cross the line into the second trimester! Woohoo!

We had our NT scan yesterday and I am very pleased to report that the lil ones passed with flying colors. I apparently have the risk of a 20 year old. The best part is that they look like actual babies now. Okay, maybe shrimp-like babies, but babies for sure. They went from blobs to gummy bears to now actual babies! It was so cool to see their brains and spines and beating hearts and little hands and feet and to see them moving around and turning and twisting! They were measuring a little ahead – I think they were 12w1d and 12w3d. The sonographer had a hell of a time getting baby A to cooperate (she must be a girl! 😉 ). I had to lay on my side. I had to cough. But we got a good peek eventually. Oh, and I learned that one placenta is anterior and one is posterior. Oh, and I’m only up 6 pounds total so far. It’s hard work, eating for three! (Although my OB reminded me that I’m not really eating for 3; I’m eating for one pregnant lady. 🙂 ) Fun stuff! Definitely on cloud 9.

My practice has several doctors so each time I’ve been, I’ve met a new one. I loved the guy I met yesterday. He told me sushi was fine (although I’m not craving fish) and he gave a great explanation on progesterone supplementation which really put my mind at ease since stopping progesterone over a week ago. I get to go back in 2 weeks for a peace of mind ultrasound (At their suggestion! I love my practice!) and then again in 2 weeks for the 16 week anatomy scan. And then we’re going on a babymoon! Not sure where, but somewhere in the US and somewhere warm. And somewhere I can use miles for the flight because they’re burning a hole in my pocket!

But finally and very long over due, I present you with some pics and a couple new tabs for your reading and viewing pleasure: Our Pregnancy and Belly.

Baby A at 12w0d

Baby B at 12w0d

12 responses to “12 Weeks & NT Scan

  1. So very very very sweet!!!! Congrats on the great results (ahhhhhh, relief) and an awesome appt.

    And yip on the babymoon!! xoxo

  2. So glad things went so well! What did you learn about progesterone? So glad you like your ob’s office. That is important. I hope I like mine better next time.

  3. yayayy congratulations 🙂 and i love all the new picture sections! is all sushi ok or just super fresh salmon? i’ve been cheating every once in a while with a little salmon…and boring eel and CA rolls. my advice is to go on a babymoon soon, def before 20w, because crazy BH’s might start at 16 weeks

  4. Congratulations! I’ve been keeping up with your progress and I am so very happy for you and your family!! Your babies are beautiful!!
    Best of all blessings to you and the lil ones!

  5. Um how gorgeous are they? I don’t think I have congratulated you yet girl… CONGRATULATIONS!!! If you don’t know already I am one of THE most elated people for you! xoxoxox

  6. cgd

    so glad that things are moving slowly, great news on the nt scan 🙂

  7. KHBetterTogether

    Awesome! They look perfect! I encourage the baby moon- I would say go to Hawaii but I imagine the flight from the east coast is a bit long!

  8. Oh I am so freakin excited for you and DH. I am sending you a huge hug!!!!

  9. Congrats on a fantastic NT scan for both LO’s 🙂 They are very cute already!

  10. AMAZING! I am on cloud 9 for you!! I am so jealous your practice is giving you so many ultrasounds! That is awesome! So, I want the scoop on the progesterone…what did you find out? Also, this may be a dumb question, but since we did PGD, don’t we already know the babies don’t have Down’s or other chromosomal abnormalities? I am still going to have it, but just wanted to better understand.

    I am totally planning a baby-moon too, as soon as I get the “all-clear” from my nuchal in a few weeks. Nothing like putting vacations on hold for years because of damn infertility! Keep me posted with where you decide to go.

    PS – Love the new links with baby and bump pics. Your little bump is super cute. You scared me with the talk of maternity clothes because I felt like I wasn’t showing much (and I know everyone is different, but that doesn’t help worry wart over here!), but after seeing your pics, I think we are prob on the same track. I need to get moving on some pics too! Can I just tell you how much I love that you are doing everything 2 weeks ahead of me?!!

  11. OMG, 12 weeks already? How is that possible? They look great 🙂 You sound so happy, and I LOVE it. We are apparently NOT getting a babymoon, though I’m trying to figure out a way to get one. LOL. Off to browse your new tabs!

  12. SO AMAZING!! They are just beautiful! Congrats on reaching this HUGE milestone!
    (-:

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

