It’s my blog’s 3rd birthday!

I can’t believe I’ve had a blog for three years. Hell, I can’t believe it took us almost three years to get pregnant. I started this blog a few months into our TTC journey. I needed a place to share my thoughts and frustrations so I didn’t have to constantly burden my husband. What I ended up getting in return was an amazing network of virtual — and now some real life — friends. Pure awesomeness.

A year ago I was going through a miscarriage. I don’t like to think about that time but I went back to read some posts from then and I was actually rather optimistic. I suppose that’s not surprising because that’s how I deal with shit. It’s like alright, this is happening, there’s nothing I can do to change it so let’s deal with it and move on.

And it did happen, and I did move on. And here I am one year, 3 transfers and 8 embryos later, 6 months pregnant with twins. Amazing.

I have said this so many times, but this blog — and those that followed and commented — has been such a gift to me. I know I’ve undoubtedly lost some readers that are unfortunately stuck on the IF roller coaster, but I’ve also gained some new ones who are in different phases of their journeys. I hope that what I’ve shared here over the years can still be useful to someone stuck on the roller coaster and I hope you get off quickly.

My advice to you: if you’ve been at it a while with the same RE without results, switch REs pronto. Try new things. Don’t give up hope. Find ways to relax. Don’t dwell in the sadness. It will happen. Oh, and try not to add up the money spent on repeated cycles. Bad idea.

I don’t know what will become of this blog. It’s the typical IFer-gets-pregnant dilemma, right? Now that my life isn’t driven by hormone levels and injections and dates with the dildocam, I don’t have as much to blog about. My pregnancy is going swimmingly (fingers crossed it stays that way). I’m not obsessed with the roller coaster any more. These things combined = BORING.

I suppose I’ll keep up with the weekly updates at a minimum and I’ll have to share my birth story and finally reveal the babies’ genders when the time comes. But after that? I’m not so sure. Time will tell. Maybe this blog will shift to being about breastfeeding and sleepless nights. If so, I don’t think “Venting Vagina” will be the right name. We shall see!

I cannot believe that this time next year, I will have two 9 month olds!!! I am humbled. I am so so SO excited for this new chapter. I can’t wait to be a mother and see my husband become a father. I can’t wait to be a family. Three more months! Come on, babies, bake for 3 more months!

11 responses to “It’s my blog’s 3rd birthday!

  1. i dont think youre boring πŸ˜‰ congrats on 3 years!!

  2. Congrats on your 3 year anniversary! Can’t wait to find out if they’re boys or girls or both!

  3. Happy Blogosphere! I will be more then happy to follow you to the breast feeding, sleepless night blog. I am confident you will have lots of good stuff to say.

  4. Happy 3 years! You can still blog!!! I didn’t even start blogging until after my first child was born and we wanted more. It took 4 years (and a couple miscarriages) to get pregnant with #2. I’m might be a mother and be pregnant again, and some people think that means I’m no longer “infertile”… but they don’t have to read my blog. Haha. Infertility changes you for life, and the challenges recur every time you decide to try for another child. Keep us updated on YOU and your life. That’s what we all care about anyway…. you. πŸ™‚

  5. Happy 3rd blog birthday!! It’s amazing the changes between years.

  6. Happy 3rd blog birthday! Believe me, your life post pregnancy with twins will be anything but boring! πŸ™‚

  7. I can’t wait to meet the babes, but yeah, they’d better bake a bit longer! You are almost in your 3rd trimester! Holy crap!

    As for after? I hope to hear about adventures with twins!!

  8. That is awesome! 3 whole years and what a difference a year makes (like you said)! So glad all is going well. Loving the belly pics!!

  9. WOW!! That’s great! Some people can’t even keep a job for 3 years, nice work! Keep it up because we’re all exciting for what’s coming πŸ™‚

  10. Congrats on 3 years…. I would love to follow your next chapter in life and read all about life as a mother of twins!

  11. I think “venting vagina” is totally appropriate – in just three months, your poor vagina is going to be venting 2 new reasons that you’ll need to come here and vent! πŸ˜‰ And, you’ll be a professional baby baker! Perfect names!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

