28 weeks!

Wow, what a week. First I found out that I failed my 1 hour glucose screening and had to take the 3 hour test. Then I failed that test, too. But then there are so many good things! For example, we had our first childbirth prep class. And today I finally reach the 28-week mark. My cervix is stable! Yay for no change! Half days has done it’s job so we’ll stick with it.

The babies are looking beautiful. They’re each around 3 pounds already! Can you believe that? SIX pounds of baby!!! A is still vertex (good baby!) and B is breech. I’m only up 3 pounds, which is much better than the path I was on before (3 lbs this month versus 10 lbs the previous month). This still puts me at 38 pounds total, but the doctors expect me to lose weight once we get my blood sugar under control. It’s all belly so I suppose even if I lose weight I’ll still look the same – or even bigger.

I meet with the nutritionist next week but the doctors are confident that with diet changes, everything will be fine with regard to my gestational diabetes. I have to test my blood sugar four times a day. No big deal at all. Part of the reason the babies are 3 pounds each is because of my gestational diabetes, but the doctors aren’t worried at this point. With the right diet, things will even out.

I go back for check ups every two weeks and then I start going weekly at week 33. I can’t believe I only have 10 weeks to go! They’re only going to do two more cervix checks! I can’t believe how quickly this pregnancy is going by.

Speaking of time flying, I am starting to get anxious about delivery and how my life with change once they’re here. My typical style is worry about the situation the night before you have to, kinda like an exam in school. But I think in this situation, it makes sense to start dealing with it now so I’m prepared. I don’t want to walk into the delivery room freaking the eff out. But OMG! I’m having two babies and they have to come out of my vagina!!!

P.S. Thanks for your support on my GD post yesterday. I may be reaching out for snack ideas! Xo.

7 responses to “28 weeks!

  1. Hey R,
    In my previous life/career (as in 2 weeks ago) I worked with GD patients for my job. So if you have any questions …

  2. Hi–I just wanted to say thank you for keeping up with my journey even though I haven’t been able to keep up with yours (it can be too hard emotionally). It seems like things are progressing well with the twins! Don’t worry about the weight…it is easier to lose than one would expect!

    :>

  3. I can’t believe how far along you already are! This last bit is going to go by even faster now. Good luck with the GD stuff!

  4. I’m so glad you are getting this all figured out and you’re handling it so well! You’re right – changing your diet and monitoring your sugar will make all the difference and you and the babies are just fine!
    Six pounds of baby already! They’re cooking along beautifully! 🙂

  5. The nice thing about having a baby is that it all happens so fast that you don’t really have time to worry. You blink and the first week is over. And by then you’re an experienced mom. This pregnancy is flying by. Good luck with the last 10 weeks.

  6. Jane

    Yay for no change!!

    If you have the chance, I would be really interested to hear more about your childbirth class.

  7. I am so glad things are going so well! 6 pounds of baby already, wow!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

