30 weeks!

I’m 30w2d today so that means I have 7w5d to go (to 38w). Holy crap! Eeeeee! I’m getting so excited! I cannot believe that within two months I will have two little babies to love and care for. I’m nesting like nobody’s business. I did 5 loads of baby laundry this weekend. I had to order a few more newborn things and I still have a few more things to get to be prepared for their arrival, but we’re in pretty good shape!

Up until recently, this pregnancy has been a total breeze. As a matter of fact, if I were only having one baby it would no problem at all! I’m the size of a full term singleton pregnancy now, and only recently have the discomforts started to kick in. I have aches and pains now, the occasional braxton hicks contraction (usually at night while reclining on my back), but all in all this is nothing. I know there’s more to come over the next 7 weeks or so. This is nothing. I can do it!

According to my childbirth prep instructor, the babies will hit a growth spurt around 33w. These babies have to be at least 3.5 pounds each. We’ll have another growth scan at 32w and I’m guessing they’ll easily be close to 4 pounds by then.

I have no idea how my stomach can get any bigger, but I know it will. I slather belly balm on twice a day in hopes I’ll be able to fend off the worst stretch marks. So far all clear (hope I didn’t just jinx myself), but these babies still have a lot of growing to do so I’m prepared. And whatever, if stretch marks come then so be it. I plan on having a mommy makeover at 40 anyway. 🙂

Same goes with the pounds. I can lose it after I have healthy babies in my arms. Every single ounce I’ve gained has been for these little ones. I worked SO hard in the 2T to pack on as much healthy weight as possible and so far it seems to have been put to good use. Sure, my thighs and ass are a little cushier, but I’m mostly belly so I know the weight has gone to the right place. As of 30w I’m up about 45 pounds, 5 of which I gained in the last 2 weeks. I wasn’t expecting to gain as much since I’m on the GD diet but hey, babies have to grow!

Speak of GD, things are totally under control. My glucose levels are way below the thresholds of 95 for fasting and 120 for 2 hours post-meal. I think I can probably even add a bit more fruit and ice cream to my diet. I’ll stay away from the cereal though even though I want it desperately (I only crave the bad, sugary kinds). I even drink prune juice twice a day and my numbers are nice and low. No big deal. I’m lucky my GD is very borderline.

Oh, and both babies are vertex! Please, please, please stay that way babies!!! The docs think if they’re both still head down at my next appointment, that it’s highly likely they’ll stay that way. Fingers crossed!

And lastly, my cervix has seen no real change since 26w so the docs aren’t worried. As a matter of fact, they won’t check it any more. (I might request that they do anyway, though.) I’ll keep doing half days at work until I get too uncomfy. All is good!

Happy Memorial Day! Enjoy the long weekend!

P.S. Belly pic coming soon.

6 responses to “30 weeks!

  1. my infertile confessions

    The count down is REALLY on now! So exciting! Glad everything is going so smoothly and hope it continues to do so! I’m right behind you at 25 weeks with my twins 🙂

  2. woohoo everything sounds great! dr. luke would be proud of you! and the babies will most likely stay vertex because by now there is very little wiggle room to turn. awesome BG levels too 🙂

  3. Yay! I’m so glad everything is going well! Keep growing babies!!! And stay vertex! 🙂 Have a wonderful holiday! Eat some good BBQ. 🙂

  4. Jane

    Great update!!

  5. Denise

    Sounds wonderul! Enjoy each and every little detail. Oh, and try shea butter as well to ward off those stretch marks. Cant hurt, right?
    D

  6. That is great that both babies are vertex! Sounds like everything is going smoothly–. 30 weeks is a big milestone- Congrats.
    A mommy make-over is in my future as well.
    Keep cooking your 2 little ones.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

