Perineum Massage

We’ve been advised to begin perineum massage to help with the tearing during delivery. This “massage” consists of my husband taking some almond oil and giving a good tug on the ole rear opening of the vag until I begin to feel “the ring of fire”. Repeat this “massage” session 5 times a week until delivery. It’s supposed to help the area get stretchy so if I do tear, the tear wont be as bad.

Now, I admit that my sex life has entirely changed since getting ginormous (I cannot wait for missionary! To be pressed chest to chest with my husband and snuggled in his neck which smells so good!) but this isn’t the kinda foreplay I was looking for. However, we shall do this in hopes that my babies’ huge heads (measuring 2+ weeks ahead) don’t tear my vag all the way to my anus. Sorry for the TMI but c’mon, no one wants this, right?

14 responses to “Perineum Massage

  1. That does not sound pleasant.

  2. Hmmm- I was never instructed to do that. I guess, er… have fun?

  3. sienna

    Well, I did tear almost all the way and it hurt like a bitch. Recovery has been hard as well, so work that massage!

  4. i hope it works! tmi but when you do post-partum missionary do it right after you feed/pump or else there is breast milk everywhere and lots of lolz.

  5. Debbie

    My first baby was delivered at 42 weeks. She was 9 lbs and her head was in the 95% for size. I didn’t do any massage, and just tore a little. I can’t imagine your twins both being that big (and if they are, God Bless You!) They put some kind of lube on me when I was pushing, so I think that helped. Good Luck!

  6. WOW. Hahaha. Sounds… er… fun? 🙂 Good luck with it! I know that my sister tore more than I thought was possible, and it was awful, so I hope this pays off in the end. *no pun intended* But don’t worry too much about the horror stories, most people I know don’t tear too much… still avoid as much tearing as you possibly can!!! Exciting that you’re far enough along to be given assignments like this!!! And a big amen to missing missionary style! My hubby asked me last night how much longer I thought it would be until we could do it that way. Haha. Miss the intimacy of it.

  7. sooz

    Girl, you have some of the most interesting posts — a lot of times they leave me speechless and then I just laugh! Seriously, I really hope that those “massages” help. The mental picture is just priceless! I know I can always count on you for some good AM reading with my coffee. 🙂

  8. KHBetterTogether

    Lol thanks for the giggle 🙂 I think I wish I had done this 3rd degree tear was owie…we had to vacuum him out which caused him to just burst thru youch…and I still have no sex drive thank you breastfeeding so be prepared for that in case it happens to you

  9. katery

    wow. i guess if it really helps it’ll be worth it, my step-sister tore in THREE places delivering her daughter and is pretty sure things will never be the same with her lady bits.

  10. I just got those same orders, but I’ve been too nervous/uncomfortable about it to move forward. I need to get on it though, because I really want to do everything I can to avoid a large tear.

    I need to get on doing my kegels too, have you ever heard of someone lazy enough to hate doing kegels? Well, here I am, 33 weeks into this, hating kegels enough to avoid doing them despite all the good press they get.

  11. holy crap! never heard of that. but anything you can do to prevent tearing…please DO IT! i couldn’t go #2 for 6 weeks without serious trauma to the stitched-up region (i mean…).

    you are doing awesome, mama!!! xoxo

  12. mae

    My SIL is an itty bitty 5’1″ and 110 lbs at her biggest and her last baby was 8lbs 14oz. She has done this with each of her pregnancies and she has never had a tear and her last 2 boys have had huge heads. Good Luck

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

