All Tidied Up

I can now attest that a brazilian bikini wax at 34 weeks is not that bad. The worst part was that the hair was on the longer side, which always makes it a bit more painful. Thirty minutes later and I was all cleaned up. I am very glad it’s over, though. Every time she touched me, I jumped! It’s definitely sensitive down there.

I also packed my hospital bag today. What am I missing? Here’s what’s in there:

  • Robe
  • Makeup and face prep stuff
  • Shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, face wash
  • Toothbrush and toothpaste
  • Gum
  • Ponytail holder and clip
  • Lip balm
  • Lavender essential oil and cotton balls
  • Snacks (but definitely need more!)
  • Pads
  • Underwear
  • Grippy socks
  • Take home outfits for babies
  • Pacifiers
  • Directions to hospital for driver
And here’s what’s still left to pack, but all written on a sticky note so I don’t forget:
  • Go home outfit for me
  • Nursing bra
  • Nursing nightgown
  • Phones, camera, chargers
  • Music (will likely be on our phones)
  • Brush, comb, blow dryer
  • Pillows (our hospital is severely lacking them apparently)
  • Breastfeeding pillow (do I really need to lug this there with me?)
  • Change of clothes for hubby
I know we still have at least 2-4 weeks to wait, but I’m getting so excited to meet them!

17 responses to “All Tidied Up

  1. Debbie

    Bring pillows OR nursing pillow – probably won’t need both. I will say this – and excuse me for being blunt. After you give birth, you are a mess “down there”. I never had a c-section, but I know you bleed just the same. It is your heaviest period x1000! Don’t bring any pajamas, underwear, or socks that you aren’t comfortable throwing out when you are finished with your hospital stay. Save your nice stuff for at home, when you want to feel somewhat normal, but don’t feel like getting dressed. Also, something people failed to tell me – despite giving birth to (in your case over 12 pounds of baby), you will need maternity clothes to go home in. I suppose you could be one of THOSE people who walk out in their size two jeans, but even my most elastic pre-pregnancy pants didn’t cut it out of the hospital. Good Luck!

  2. --K

    Deodorant and a nail file for the teeny tiny nails that twins sport that always seem to be too long and maybe the record books for the kids if you want to write stuff down right away.

  3. Denise

    A baseball cap – pack a baseball cap. I remember my good friend Stacie when she had her first son – it was the one thing she asked for.

  4. Hmmm. Just my experience here… but I packed WAY too much stuff and didn’t use any of it. During labor I didn’t want ANYTHING but food… which they wouldn’t let me have… everything irritated me so much and all I could focus on was “relaxing.” Even my poor husband tried to hold my hand during a contraction and I was like “DONT TOUCH ME!!!” Haha. And music? Forget about it… “Turn that off!” Haha. I was so bitchy, but it was like 28 hours of labor so whatev.

    After delivery, I had this precious precious baby, and I didn’t want anything else. Ever. At all. Just give me my baby and leave me alone! πŸ™‚ I do agree with Debbie about the old/large/comfy clothes and such. But after c-section you don’t bleed nearly as much as after vag. Still a lot, but much less because they kind of clean you out after they take out the baby. Um, all I really want you to make sure and take is a laptop or something so you can post pics of your babies! πŸ™‚ And if your breastfeeding, go with a plan and find out hospital policy ahead of time so you’re prepared to battle it… the hospital I delivered my first in had a policy that they give ALL babies a bottle starting their first day of life. I didn’t know it and fought like a crazy lady against it. They gave in, but I found out that just meant that they gave him a bottle of sugar water instead of formula. Duh. Wish I had known before hand so I could’ve had a battle plan…

  5. My only advice is don’t overpack. It’s a pain in the ass to drag it all there and drag it all home and you don’t really need any of it. Here’s what I used in my 4 days of hospital stay after my C-section: Shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, toothpaste, brush, hairband, breastfeeding pillow, computer, camera, phone, outfit for baby to go home in and clothes for me to go home in. Seriously, you don’t need the cute robe/pajamas. And they’ll give you throw-away underwear to wear because yes, there is a lot of blood. And they’ll give you grippy socks.

    Also, make sure you leave room in a bag to take stuff home with you from the hospital. Take the diapers. Take the pacifiers. Take it ALL. They expect you to do that.

  6. newlife

    More on the business side of things, If your hospital lets you do so, fill out all the paper work ahead of time so that you can just pass it off to them and go straight to your room on the big day. Have all the phone # you need written down (obgyn, pediatrician, dulla ect.) so the Hospital can make calls if neccessary. I agree with everyone about not packing too much. I never touched half of the stuff I packed. The one thing I wish I had packed was my mini breast pump. My milk didn’t come in until about 5 days after the birth of my son. He ended up losing almost 2 pounds because he wasn’t getting enough nutrients plus was getting exhausted from suckling with no result. Anyway pumping has been shown to speed up labor and strengthen contractions if you have stalled and is also helpful in jump starting milk production after delivery.

  7. Meg

    When I wasn’t allowed to eat/drink during labor, I was glad I had brought a little travel sized Scope to swish around in my mouth several times.

    After my first two C-sections at two different hospitals, whatever drug they gave me immediately after surgery totally knocked me out. I don’t remember holding my first child until the next day, and with my second child, I don’t remember watching her big brother see her for the first time. I talked crazy talk and was purely embarassed when people later told me what I said.

    This third C-section with my twins, I talked to the anesthesiologist before the surgery and described the above to him. I told him that I did not want sleepy medicine and that I wanted to remember every minute after my babies were born. What do you know? He gave me something that controlled the pain perfectly, but didn’t knock me out. I remember every beautiful moment of that blissful first few hours and wouldn’t trade those memories for the world. It is worth it to clarify this beforehand so you don’t miss a second of their first hours of life.

    Also, two of the three hospitals we’ve used had a “policy” that all of the newborns were taken to the nursery for the pediatrician to check out, like a big herd of cattle. I didn’t like to have my baby taken from me to a place where no parents were allowed (because of HIPPA violations if I overheard their assessments of other babies in the herd). With the twins, I insisted that my babies wouldn’t leave my room. I was paying the pediatrician plenty of money and he could walk down the hall to check them and answer my questions. All of the nurses seemed surprised, but then shrugged their shoulders and said they would mention it. The pediatrician came to our room and had a sorry attitude about it. So I just asked for a different pediatrician for morning #2.

    Another thing, with my first son, the doctor who circumcised him said that me nor my husband couldn’t come into the room to console the baby. I was a ninny back then and sheepishly said, “OK”. I should have told him to go jump because I now know that I could have gotten any pediatrician to do it after we left the hospital. With my second son (one of the twins), I said that I didn’t want to be separated from him and they allowed my husband to be with him. So, just insist on things being done the way you want them to be done (within reason, of course).

    (I know I’m writing a book. I apologize. I just wish someone had told me these things.) With the twins, they billed us for a room charge for 1. me 2. baby girl 3. baby boy. We only used ONE room. The babies never left my room. This turned out to be a battle to have our bill adjusted. (It totaled about 4x what we pay for our monthly mortgage.) I would have this cleared before I left the hospital if I had to do it again.

  8. Wow. You seem very prepared! I didn’t pack a hospital bag and ended up leaving home wearing a robe and a pair of underwear! The only things I felt I really needed were a nursing bra, snacks and a hair elastic. It’s getting so close – good luck!

  9. Definitely something for their footprints if you want them. Stuff to pull your hair back. Face wash. Water bottle (easier than cups when things get crazy!). List of people who need to be contacted right off the bat just in case you are so out of it you forget someone (totally possible!). OMG I can’t wait!!!

  10. My number one thing for all of the boys’ births is the breastfeeding pillow. You’ll be exhausted and the babies will eat non stop and the pillow allows your arms a break. I couldn’t ever get the normal pillows to stay still and they didn’t support enough. πŸ™‚ Also as other people said the cute things will get dirty and your hospital should give you stretchy underwear and pads. πŸ™‚ the underwear may look ugly as sin but boy are they comfy. πŸ™‚

  11. You are prepared! I just starting packing my bag this weekend too! I am like you – what’s done and what I need to grab last minute. You are on the home stretch!!!! YAY!!!!!

  12. I didn’t bring my breast pillow they had so many in the bed with me I didn’t need it. I would bring a sweatshirt for hubby. Mark was freezing and had to go home to get warmer clothes.

    Other then that your list looks perfect.

  13. KHBetterTogether

    I agree with most people I ended up not really using any of the stuff I packed except toiletries and the clothes to go home in. (which I brought comfy maternity stuff cause you still look preggo and when I had the c-section it had to be something that wouldn’t sit on the scar). I also thought I needed cute jammies etc. but after the VBAC I was unexpectedly put on the catheter anyway so I wouldn’t have been able to put on cute pants if I wanted πŸ™‚ I had a hard time maneuvering my lower half for both births…but I did put on my own shirts so it looked like I was dressed but I wasn’t…I second the breastfeeding pillow, hospital pillows suck, and our room was cold too so I had a sweatshirt and so did DH. Can’t wait to see them and hear the birth story!

  14. that’s a long list! i just packed toiletries. i wore hospital gowns, their nonslip socks, their super mega ultra pads, their mesh undies (eww, but you will be gross down there). i went home in the clothes i was admitted in. i brought the nursing pillow but didn’t even take it out from the case. baby clothes and DH clothes he can get later. you will be there for at least 3 days. oh and they don’t recommend pacifiers for the first couple of weeks at least.

    they are not allowed to reuse a single thing in your room after you leave, so take everything. ask for more diapers, 2oz similacs, chucks, nursing pads, sanitary pads. take the water pitcher and the plastic bins (for baby baths?). if they give you a pump to use in your room you should hoard those skinny 2oz medela containers as well πŸ™‚

  15. ilana

    Love checking in to your blog! Cant believe you are so close – LOVE the belly pics. you look fantastic! About your list- i dont think you need the BF pillow- regular pillows work fine in the hospital if you dont want to lug. Also dont even bother with your own undies or pads- the hosital stocks you up on the net panties and STEAL lots of them bc i still wore them for a week after i was home. Why mess your own nice undies and those you can toss. They are actually comfy too. I agree iwth the above post ask them to stock ur room each day with pads, ice packs ands and diapers. I took lots of stuff home!

  16. Thanks for this entry and all your readers comments. While I have not packed my bag yet I finally have a list on paper of what I will pack when I get the motivation to do so.

  17. I definitely 2nd the extra pillows!! Hospital pillow SUCK! And, I know this might be too much info…but STOOL SOFTENERS. Things slow WAAAAY down if you end up taking any drugs while in labor and if you have a vaginal birth, things are a little tender down there.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

