Induction Scheduled

I am shocked that I went from someone who was crying scary tears after my 26w appointment due to a shortening cervix, to someone who just got off the phone with her doctor to schedule her induction. How in the heck did I make it this far? I kept my feet up half of the day from week 27 through week 34 and since then I’ve been home full time, but not on any restrictions. And I’m still baking babies. I am shocked. And extremely grateful.

So the induction has been scheduled for 38w4d on July 26th. They induce at night so the babies likely wouldn’t come until the 27th. (Sienna – and I got in with Dr. B!)

I am of two frames of mind at the moment:

1. The possibility of going past 38w is so awesome! The babies will be over 7 lbs each by then for sure. The longer they bake, the better.

2. Omg, can I do this for another two weeks?!

They seem pretty comfy in there at the moment. I’m eager to see what the docs say after my check up on Friday.  I still want to avoid an induction if I can so if all looks good on Friday, maybe I’ll start up acupuncture and other things (sex, enema) to see if we can get some movement on our own. If you have any tips, please share!

12 responses to “Induction Scheduled

  1. lis

    wishing you and the little ones all the best
    xoxo
    lis

  2. YAY!!! I hope you don’t have to enduce, but I’m glad there’s a definite end in sight! Unfortunately, I have no tips. I went a full 2 weeks past due and I tried EVERYTHING! Walking, sex, pooping, praying, crying, eating foods that “promise” to enduce labor, more sex (I liked that option haha), pressure points…. the only things I skipped were drinking castor oil… ew and not sure it’s safe…. and jumping on the trampoline which for SURE isn’t safe (talk about snapping your uterine ligaments!) but was starting to tempt me toward the end anyway. I will say though, that although nothing really worked for me, it did give me a sense of being in control… or at least not totally helpless, so it still helped me emotionally to try everything I could think of. Good luck!!!

  3. Nicole

    Sorry if TMI…I’ve read your blog for awhile now. I’ve had three kids and sometimes these things work and other times no such luck, everyones different. So here goes. Walking, sex, nipple stimulation (if you have a breast pump start using it daily), have hubby massage your ankles, if your really desperate and don’t want to do the whole castor oil thing (yuck I wouldn’t either) dehydration will make some contractions start but if you go into the hospital the first thing they do is hook you up to an IV to hydrate you so they may stop.

  4. I’ve followed you for a while now and wanted to drop you a quick note to tell you how awesome it is that you’ve made it so far with those babies! I’m also a patient of Dr. B (at Sienna’s recommendation) and think it’s great you’ve got him if you do go until the induction date. Until then…get the sex going and see if you can get those babies moving on your own:)

  5. Nic

    So pleased you are doing well! I hope they come naturally. I have no tips I am afraid, but I would try all the above suggestions! Even if it does not work you may have had fun trying!

  6. Debbie

    I was induced at 42 weeks with my first, and it really wasn’t that bad. I did get an epidural – but it didn’t work. With my third, I did hook myself up the the breast pump for about 10 minutes (I was 40 weeks). My water broke that evening. Not sure if it was a coincidence, or he was just ready. Good luck. You can bake them for a few more weeks. Mommies can do ANYTHING!

  7. With my first, we tried everything (except for castor oil and acupuncture) and I ended up being induced 1 week past my due date because my first son was just way too comfortable in there to react to natural ways. With my second son, we did everything again and added acupuncture treatment (which were 4 consecutive days of treatment). First day after treatment I lost mucus plug and I started having irregular contraction, third night I went to active labor and never made it to the fourth treatment (gave birth that morning). I am a big believer of acupuncture for induction (with somebody who is really skilled in this area), just give yourself 4-5 days before your medical induction. Going into labor naturally gives you best chances for non-medical birth but if it doesn’t happen, don’t kill yourself over it. 2 healthy babies is what counts.

  8. sienna

    omg 2 more weeks possibly? you have to be uber uncomfy by now. damn. but on the other hand, dr B!!!! lets have a talk with your babies and convince them that if the *must* come before the induction date,a weekday would be best so that either dr B or dr S deliver you :o) xoxoxoxo.

  9. Okay, labor for me was period-like cramps at about a 13 on a scale of 1 to 10 (hahaha) so I’m hoping that the menstrual-ish cramps you’ve been having signify labor is imminent!!! I am hopeful!!

    But either way, ZOMG! Your going to have huge, healthy, take-home babies!!!!! YOU ARE AWESOME!!! xoxo

  10. You are a rockstar! So exciting that you have an induction date and if the babies decide to make their appearance early, well that’s just awesome! Can’t wait to hear what happens at your appt. on Friday. Regardless, you are a huge success and are going to have big healthy babies!! YAY!!!

  11. Oh my goodness, you have made it so far! Awesome! Can you believe it’s so close? I can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

