Pleasantly Surprised

My parents’ visit went great. My mom was extremely respectful and very complimentary. She praised my parenting and gave us the space we needed so they didn’t disrupt our schedule. She finally asked the questions that I was expecting her to ask a month ago (how did you pick their names?, tell me more about your labor and delivery experience., how did their 2-week check-up go?, etc.). They were also completely self-sufficient. We were totally shocked — pleasantly so. I still can’t believe things went so well.

The second day I thought things were heading downhill. My mom got mad about something (we still can’t figure it out — I honestly think it’s because I asked her to wash her hands rather than use sanitizer) and pouted for the rest of the day. I’m pretty sure she also took drugs. Let’s just say she likes her Xanax. We went for a walk in the afternoon and I swear to you that my mother walked slower than I did 36 weeks pregnant with twins. After we got back, I was getting tired so they left to give us our space. And I didn’t even have to ask! And this was at 4pm! By day three, she was back to normal and stayed that way for the rest of their visit.

My parents weren’t too much help but they did a lot of baby holding and burping, which I did appreciate. They brought food. My mom did, however, repeatedly get Home Run’s name wrong. Even on some photos she posted to Facebook! One of her only two grandchildren and she can’t remember his name! Later that day HR pooped on her so I think we got even. 🙂

They’ve invited themselves back in 6 weeks. I don’t mind the self-invitation, but I made it clear that they should not book any kind of travel until we talk first. We’re moving at the end of September which would coincide with their visit. I’m not sure if it will be more trouble than it’s worth, but we’ll see as it gets closer. I certainly don’t want to deprive them and if we don’t see them then, they won’t see the babies again until Christmas — and even then it will only be for about 48 hours. I’m looking forward to the babies’ first Christmas, but I’m not looking forward to the family juggling that will complicate things. My mom is already a clock watcher (“You spent X days with your in-laws and only X days with us!”) so I anticipate a big one-sided tug-o-war. We’ll deal with that when the time comes, I suppose.

All in all, I’m happy things went well. The babies got lots of extra cuddles. We were pleasantly surprised. Now I just have to not let it annoy me that she still won’t call regularly and she’s still going to send ridiculous text messages to the babies.

5 responses to “Pleasantly Surprised

  1. I’m SO glad that your visit went well! It’s a shame that she’s clock watching, that’s so much pressure on you. I find it extremely funny that she texts them though. Haha. Maybe she expects you to read them to the babies…”grandma sent you a text today! She says ‘coocheecoocheecoo!'” Hahaha.

  2. So glad that there was not too much drama! I can’t believe that she got one of her grandsons name wrong! It’s kinda important 🙂
    But glad your babies recieved extra loving…. w/out making you go crazy!

  3. sooz

    So glad to hear that their visit went well! Family drama is the worst type of drama. It’s encouraging to know, though, that they want to come back and be so involved!

  4. Have you tried answering every text message she sends with a phone call? That should be equally onnoxious to her as the stupid texts are to you, and should convey the message. Or have you flat out asked her to not text and to call instead? Tell her it’s too hard to juggle the babies and text- it’s a legitimate complaint. Tell her you’d rather talk. Tell her you’d rather her be able to speak to the babies directly, slap a cell phone next to HR’s ear and let him scream away. >:)

    Long time follower and commenter- from before you were pregnant, but under various handles. I switch back and forth between my personal account and my work account. 🙂 It’s be awhile though!

  5. I am so glad to hear that the visit went well. I was wondering how your cat has reacted to the boys suddenly being around?

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

Archives

