Week Four

My boys will officially be one month old on Monday! It’s so special watching them grow and learn. I love being a mommy. It suits me very well. I might treat myself to a glass of wine in celebration! It’s been 11 months since I’ve had an alcoholic beverage. Wow!

Reflecting on my journey, I feel so lucky to have had a complication-free pregnancy and to be able to carry twins to term. I was so afraid of all the “what ifs.” I never experienced extreme exhaustion or any morning sickness. My cervix held out even though we had a scare around 26 weeks (turns out I just have a shorter than average cervix, but it’s just as strong). I was dreading a lot of what comes after the babies were born, too: sleep deprivation, two babies crying at once, PPD (apparently IVFers are affected more often), hormone changes, hair loss, twin skin. So far, as in pregnancy, I’ve been spared. I definitely noticed changes in progesterone during the first week postpartum (hot flashes!) but overall, I feel great. Sure, I get headaches from being over-tired occasionally but nothing a little cat nap can’t fix.

I guess I’m saying that this is going so much better than I had expected. I was expecting things to be so much harder. I’m putting this out there because I’m someone who believes in honesty in parenting. Sure, I tried for nearly 3 years to get these guys so of course I’m extremely grateful! I marvel at their every coo, breath, movement. But I know there will be times when they’ll be little jerks. And I intend to be honest about it. Sometimes (and I’ve always thought this) parenting is hard and kids are challenging. I know this, I expect it, and I’ll never sugar coat it.

So you can imagine how surprised I am that things are going so well. I had an uncomplicated vaginal delivery.  I’m able to exclusively breastfeed. I have two calm, happy babies who are on the same schedule. They cry (or scream) when getting their diapers changed, getting a bath, or when I haven’t fed them quickly enough.Other than that, they’re pretty content … And oh so cute. How did I get so lucky?

Happy one month, babies!

P.S. I guess this blog is becoming a mommy blog. Weird. But awesome.

4 responses to “Week Four

  1. sienna

    happy one month sweet baby boys!! i’m sooo glad that things are going well for you. i think the fact that you thought it would be so hard worked in your favor. moi?i was in ~lalaland and *assumed* parenthood would be a cakewalk *just* because i wanted it so much. who feels like an a$$ now? btw, do you still or did you ever have linea negra? mine is dark as can be and i am so annoyed it won’t go away. dr S said when i stop BF-ing, it will fade, but that is so far away in the future!! anyhoo, i can’t wait for little P to meet your boys. she’ll have two boyfriends to pay attention to! how sweet :o)

  2. Yay! I’m so glad all is going well for you! And I’m glad you’ll be honest about it on here. 🙂 I can’t believe it’s already been a month!!!

  3. Mommy blog away you’ve earned the right to brag about your little angels. They are so sweet and perfect.

    Maybe they are happy babies because they have such a happy mom.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

