My Other Baby

Emby from Walking an Unknown Path asked about my kitty and how she’s adjusting. My cat has had a pretty cush life. She’s a princess! Up until the babies arrived, she slept with me. I showered her with constant affection. She’s so soft so I loooove petting her. I smooch her on her head. I pick her up and carry her like a baby. I scratch her under her chin. I love her!

I really didn’t want to disrupt her life more than necessary so we tried hard to prepare her for two babies. We played sounds of newborn babies crying to try to get her used to the idea. We also brought home blankets that were swaddled around the babies for her to smell before we brought them home. And none of it really truly prepared her. Poor thing! When we brought the babies home, she did a quick sniff of their heads and that was it. She kept her distance. I felt awful because I couldn’t really pick her up or spend time with her because I was caring for two new little ones.

She ended up being so stressed out that she gave herself FLUTD (feline lower urinary tract disease)! She was peeing blood all over the place! All in one day we had to take the babies to the doctor for their 2 week check-up and take the cat to the vet because she was so sick! I actually cried so hard because I thought she was going to die. Thankfully she just needed some pain meds and a course of antibiotics.

She’s fine now. She’s still keeping her distance but she’s much happier. We have our private time when I’m pumping. Every time, she’ll come over and talk to me and purr and I pet her like crazy. She does seem more maternal over the babies now. If they’re crying, she’ll come stand guard. It’s sweet. She doesn’t get closer than that, though. It’s probably a good thing since the babies are so small but I hope one day she snuggles up to them.

One response to “My Other Baby

  1. Aw! Thanks for answering my question! Your kitty is so beautiful! I love those green eyes and that super cute splash of color right next to her nose! I am sorry that she has had such a difficult adjustment period. I am so glad that the vet was able to get her better from her FLUTD! That is awful that she got that. I hope it never happens again! It’s encouraging to hear that she is adapting to having the babies around. I think it will be fun to see her snuggle with them once she is ready.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

