Pregnancy Tips

Michelle commented on my last post and asked that I share some pregnancy tips so here you go! (And congratulations on your pregnancy!)

To fend off stretch marks:

To help with constipation:

  • Prune juice twice a day, 1 cup
  • Dried apricots as a snack (until I was Dx with gestational diabetes)
  • In the last 2 weeks of pregnancy, things started slowing down a bit more so I started taking Colace daily. I was able to avoid the dreaded ‘roids because of this, with the combination of pooping like crazy right before my water broke and continuing Colace in the hospital and after I got home.

To get comfy in bed:

  • I had hip pain very early on. To ease the discomfort, I used the Boppy pregnancy wedge and I also ordered a memory foam mattress topper for my side of the bed (hubby didn’t like how it felt!). I put the mattress topper on our fold off sofa bed once I delivered to make it comfy for guests.

To avoid tearing of the perineum:

  • Have your partner perform perineal massage for 2 minutes every day the last few weeks before delivery. We used almond oil. I’ll spare you the details, but Google it if you want instructions.
  • If you do tear, keep up with the sitz baths. I used this.

To help gain weight in the second trimester (probably more applicable to those expecting multiples):

  • I made a variation of Dr. Luke’s smoothie every day until I was Dx with GD. It contained: a scoop of egg white protein powder, egg whites, tofu, carrot, greens, cup of V8 Fusion juice, frozen fruit, yogurt, flaxseed oil, ice.

Stay hydrated:

  • I drank TONS of water . Like 120-140 ounces a day.

And don’t forget to do your kegels! You have to push with your core and be able to also lower your abdominal floor so you avoid pushing with your face! And as soon as you can postpartum, start your kegels again. I’m still not able to do a kegel to completely close off a stream of urine and I’m 4 weeks out! I wasn’t able to do a kegel again until week 3.

Anyone else have any tips for Michelle and other pregnant (or soon-to-be-preggo) ladies? Yay for babies!

3 responses to “Pregnancy Tips

  1. i have been a really awful commenter lately, but i have been reading! these tips are great 🙂

    i would recommend staying active no matter what. i’ve walked 40 minutes a day and done yoga 4-5 times a week this whole pregnancy, and i’m convinced that is why i still feel so good!!

  2. I agree with A… stay as active as you can. Even while on bed rest *yuck* I’ve been doing as much as I can, and it totally makes a difference… even if it’s just for my sanity. That and after delivery, especially c-section, you can drink raspberry leaf tea to help the uterus recover and get strong again. And fenugreek, or mother’s milk tea, to help with milk production… I guess these are the things I’m thinking of now, not necessarily what someone in the first trimester will be interested in. Haha. Sorry. 🙂

  3. Michelle

    This is all great! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

