Week 5

The babies are doing well. We had our one month check up this week. They’re definitely going to be tall boys! They’re a little behind in the weight category, but they were born a little early so that’s okay when comparing to a 40 week singleton – they’ll catch up! However, they are gaining appropriately. We’re still EBFing and it’s going well. There was a growth spurt earlier this week which left my nipples quite sore but my supply seems to have caught up.

Friday was my husband’s first day in the office. He’s been working from home this whole time, which has been amazing! In honor of their 5 week birthday and being by myself, I decided to pull myself together, get the boys ready, and run some errands. Our first solo outing!

It took 4 hours to get out of the house! First, I needed them to nap so I could shower. Peanut Butter kept waking up so every time I’d get ready to step in, I’d have to go soothe him. Finally I was able to make a break for it! I took the fastest shower of my life and as soon as the water turned off, PB was crying. I got him calmed and I started quickly getting ready. This also included whipping up lunch for myself and getting everything set up by my BFing headquarters on the couch. The babies woke up and I fed everyone lunch, myself included. Burp, change, get the boys ready to head out. Whew! It doesn’t seem like that would take 4 hours but it did!

I had to go to the drug store and grocery store and both were within walking distance. I knew the grocery store was ground level so we were good there. I needed to pick up an Rx at the drug store and the pharmacy is in the basement so I called ahead to make sure they had an elevator – and they did. Off we went!

Just getting out of the lobby of my building was a challenge. Everyone wanted to see the babies. Once I get outside, the babies promptly fell asleep. They LOVE the outdoors! Or maybe I should say I love the outdoors because every. single. time. we go outside, they fall asleep the moment they breathe fresh air.

Tons of people talked to me or would say “Twins?!” when walking by. We navigated the busy side walks and completed our errands. 45 minutes later, we were back home. We did it! By ourselves! Yaaay!

This week there’s a BFing support group I’d love to go to, but that would require a solo cab ride and I’m not quite sure I’m ready for that. Until then I think we’ll stick to walking distance stuff.

Also in celebration of the boys passing the 1-month mark, I thought it might be time for all 4 of us to sleep a little better at night. It’s time to move the boys to their cosleeper (they’ve been between us in our bed). The boys are adjusting but they’ve been unable (or I suppose I’ve been unable) to sleep in there for the duration of the night. They nap fine there during the day (although PB prefers my arms or chest), but at night one of them fusses and since they’re cosleeping the only way I can soothe them without causing my husband to wake up is to snuggle in my arms. Once we snuggle, we usually stay that way until it’s time to eat again. I loooove my snuggle time so I don’t mind but we’ll get better with co-sleeping this month.

My 6 week check up is this coming Friday. Looking forward to getting the okay to get busy. It’s been a looooong time. I am pretty sure my 2nd degree tear has healed but I’m afraid to look or touch. Some things should just be left alone. πŸ™‚

Wish me luck on my first full week home alone with the boys!

9 responses to “Week 5

  1. I didn’t realize you had a 2nd degree! Oye. I guess it’s to be expected with the doc sticking his whole arm up there, but OUCHY. So sorry. Hope it’s all healed and ready for some good lovin! haha. So glad everything is going well and the walk outside sounds so nice! Glad your hubby is able to work from home for now, that’s gotta be nice.

  2. LOL, yeah…it takes time to plan outings and I only have one! So glad you are all doing well πŸ™‚

  3. Good for you! 5 weeks old was when I took my first solo outing with my twins too. Before long, you’ll have it all down and it will be easy to get out the door. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m impressed! Going out alone with one scares me! But two? Yikes!

  5. you are so brave! i didn’t dare go outside alone with them until they were 9-10 weeks. and the showering thing? pfft at that stage as long as the babies and i were getting cleaned at least twice a week it’s all good.

  6. Wow, sounds like you’re doing great!
    You’re more ambitious than I with getting cleared for business – we didn’t do it till nearly a year after baby. It was pretty uncomfortable the first time, which left me scared to try again for a while. A couple months later, after I’d stopped pumping, it was all good again the second time we tried it. So don’t let yourself be turned off by things being uncomfortable at first.

  7. Yea for getting out of the house! Little man always seems to fall asleep outside too, but I think it’s because of the movement in his stroller. He falls asleep in the car too. So glad everything went well!

  8. katery

    going out with two newborns, you are awesome!! there will be many many more fast showers in your life!! i used to bring louise into the bathroom and put her in her bouncy seat while i showered.

  9. It’s amazing how much harder it is to get one small extra person out the door – I can’t imagine how much harder it is with twins! And I had my mama with me every time I went out the first three months! You are so brave. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

