Week 6

You guys! I’m a momma to twin boys! TWO BABIES! And they’re mine!!! Even though they’re here, I still have to pinch myself sometimes. I can’t believe this is my life. Amazing.

I had my 6-week check up last week. Besides the time the babies spent in the nursery at the hospital, this is the first time I’ve been apart from them in over 10 months. It felt weird and I couldn’t wait to get home. They were in the greatest of care — daddy’s first time alone with them. I should probably leave more often so dad can get more one on two time. We’ll see about that. πŸ™‚

The midwife gave me a good report. I’m all healed up, including my 2nd degree tear. She didn’t use a speculum! YAAAAY!!! I have diastasis recti which is to be expected with how huge I was. Thankfully, it’s only one finger width apart so I should be able to bring it back together now that I’m cleared for exercise. (Pilates DVD recommendations, anyone?)

And then she complimented me on how I seemed so calm and together for a new mom of twins. I can attribute that to two awesome babies who know when it’s night time and stick to the same schedule. πŸ™‚

The only bummer is I’m only down 35 pounds. Either the scale at my pedi’s office is way wrong or I’ve only lost 3 additional pounds in the last 4 weeks. Seriously? Not cool. 17 more to go. At least now I’m cleared to exercise (and have sex) so that should help. I’m determined to get rid of the pounds before I go back to work in early November. Although I can do them up, my fat jeans are still too tight!

Birth control was offered but at least for the time being, I’ve declined. I know we could potentially conceive on our own, seeing as there’s nothing wrong with either of us, but for now we’ll take our chances. I did get a Rx just in case I change my mind. I’m hoping AF stays away anyway. I’m not ready to get reacquainted with her just yet.

I’m going to miss my doctors! It’s a fantastic practice and I highly recommend them if you’re in NYC.

The babies are doing well. We fled NYC to avoid the wrath of Irene and although there was no major destruction, I’m still glad we left. The boys are good little travelers!

K, boys are napping so I’m off to go pump. Xo.

7 responses to “Week 6

  1. I’m just so happy for you! You seem like me as far as being a new mom goes – just blissed out! Davie is almost six months and I still can’t believe I’m a mom! We’re so lucky, just saying it doesn’t seem adequate!
    So glad you guys survived the hurricane! πŸ™‚

  2. Chon

    I love reading your weekly updates! The boys sound so delicious would totally love to see a pic but understand! Do you go back full time or part time? Keep the updates coming!

  3. Sounds like you’re doing great with the BFing and all. Don’t expect too much of yourself with the weight loss though. It probably won’t help your supply at all to actively try to lose the weight, and lots of people told me “9 months on, 9 months off”. I have to say I think that’s pretty true. Though I did fit back into my bigger jeans shortly after delivery, I still definitely had a pooch and some would just get over my hips but have no hope of being done up. By a year, I was able to fit back into almost everything I own. I still have about 6lb to lose to get back to pre-pg weight at just over 17 months.
    Don’t push yourself too hard. It will come off if you eat healthily – especially once your boys get mobile and you’re running around after them!

  4. You sound so happy- motherhood seems to suit you well πŸ™‚ It’s wonderful that you have such a long maternity leave, lots of time to enjoy your 2 little boys. Good job getting them on a schedule.

  5. Glad you missed the storm, even if there wasn’t any destruction in your area. I just can’t imagine trying to take care of twin newborns without power! A big “Aw yeah!” for being cleared for sex again. I can hardly wait. Haha. I’m so glad that the little guys are treating you so well, sleeping and on the same schedule! Amazing! πŸ™‚ And don’t worry too much about the weight, I’m sure it will all come off in time. Your body’s probably just freaking out like “oh crap, I just lost so much weight! am I sure it’s okay?” it will take a week or so of stabilization and I’ll bet you start dropping again.

  6. It sounds like you are doing well! 17 lbs left is pretty good- you had TWINS only 6 weeks ago! You’ll knock off that last bit in no time.

  7. Congrats on the clearance for exercise and baby-making! I’m impressed with all the weight you’ve lost…especially with having twins.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

