Quiet

I’ve been quiet lately! Who knew raising twins, having a relationship with your husband, settling into a new apartment, hiring a nanny and going back to work could be so much work! All is well. Very well, actually. I went back to work last week. I cried a couple of times the first day, but every day got easier. And for as much as I loved loved loved being home with my tiny little men, I am surprised at how much I’m enjoying being at work. I think it helps that a) I love my job and b) we found a fantastic nanny.

It’s weird having an employee in your home though. I don’t really consider her an employee (although that’s what she is), I think of her more as a family member. She is a baby nurse and she has 20 years of experience with twins and triplets. She couldn’t be more perfect.

I had her start 2 weeks prior to me going back to work so we could be home together. I was able to observe her with the boys and she could pick up their routine from me. The second week I made appointments every day so I had to force myself to leave her alone with the boys for an hour or two. I got my hair done, nails done, first postpartum bikini wax, and I went shopping. By the end of the week, I was a brand new woman and I was getting comfortable leaving the boys with our nanny.

The babies really love her. She’s great with them and you can tell she’s already attached. It’s super cute. We’ve all handled the transition very well.

3 responses to “Quiet

  1. I’m so glad the nanny is so wonderful! That has to make things so much easier.

  2. katery

    that is so great, i am really glad everything is going so smoothly for you 🙂

  3. Jem

    Thanks for sharing your nanny story. I will be going to work after the birth of our little girl and it’s good to hear a positive story about nannies (and your BFing story, too).

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

