11 months!

(1 week and 2 days late!)

I am consistently amazed by watching the boys blossom into little people. They understand so much now. It’s such a joy to watch. As we near the beginning of their second year of life I can’t help but reflect. They were so tiny and so needy. They shakily stretched their skinny limbs. They squawked. Baby B had gas. Baby A spit up. We were nervous parents who catered to every cry. We refused help. We cried in amazement at the two little humans we made.

I look back and I’m proud of how we tackled year one. We let the babies lead the way and, for the most part, we rolled with it. I have absolutely zero complaints. Sure, some days were harder than others. Unlatching the boys, laying them down and getting off the couch to go pee and hearing their little cries broke my heart (but mama had to pee and back then pee didn’t always wait til I got to the bathroom to come out). Going back to work was hard. Taking care of sick, teething babies is hard. But all in all, they are an absolute joy.

I’m more patient than I’ve ever been in my life. When I hear another baby cry, my heart melts. I used to be annoyed. Annoyed because I wanted a crying baby. I hit the jackpot because I have two. And they don’t cry too often these days.

To celebrate 11 months, Baby B took his first steps! I stood him up a few feet in front of me and he ran to me! He was so proud of himself. So cute! Baby A can stand and take steps but he has no real interest. He was the same way with crawling until he saw his brother take off so I think as soon as Baby B is walking around on his own, Baby A is content just chilling. Baby A is an amazing ball bouncer. It’s so cool to watch.

They both have 8 teeth (4 on top and 4 on bottom). Baby B is getting some action in the molar area, poor guy.

These boys are eating me out of house and home! Last week alone they ate 1lb boneless leg of lamb, 2 large chicken breasts, a huge thing each of strawberries and blueberries, bunch of bananas, a bag each of frozen peas and corn, a box of crackers, a bag of baby carrots, couple kiwis and avocados, and so much more! Considering we buy all organic for them, they’re getting expensive!

Thankfully they are in the process of being weaned from formula. They’re down to three bottles a day and the middle one is  50/50 formula and milk since a couple of weeks ago. Once we can drop the formula I’ll be so happy for many reasons!

  1. No more $30/can formula
  2. Whole milk is so much cheaper
  3. Traveling next month will be a million times easier not having to boil water and mix up formula

Our plan is to have them fully weaned next week so that when we travel we can just get organic milk on the go. I look forward to the day!

They are no longer using bottles, but a trainer cup. I hope to fully transition them to a straw cup soon. Next up: pacifier. For now I don’t mind it. They only use pacis when napping or night-time — or on rare occasions when one is unusually grumpy.

OMG! 11 months! Where has the time gone. I wish I could put life on slow mo.

 

2 responses to “11 months!

  1. katery

    i have to say, for someone who has TWO much less one new baby, you seem to be doing an amazing job balancing everything, you really should be quite proud of yourself!

  2. 11 months already?! They sound so cute. 🙂

    Now that I have a little one, I have to commend you and your hubby. I do not know how people manage to survive more than one baby. I’m so impressed! You are an amazing mommy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

