Getting Fit Update

Today begins week 7 of getting fit. As of today I’m down 16 pounds! I’m lean and strong and it feels awesome (twin skin not withstanding).

Someone asked about my juice recipes. There’s a juice bar near my office so I’ve been using their menu as inspiration. My usual juice includes some combination of the following ingredients include: spinach, kale, carrots, celery, cucumber, ginger, apples, beets, oranges. I sometimes add parsley, bell pepper, tomato, grapefruit, melon. Lemon is great, too! This AM I had a few carrots, half a cucumber, an orange, a bunch of spinach, and some left over red bell pepper.

The way I look at it is my weight loss is more about choices than it is diet. I have a juice for breakfast and before pregnancy, I never even ate breakfast so with that alone I’m winning. When I’m choosing meals, rather than eating whatever I want (a long standing habit) and occasionally eating a salad, I just flipped it. My new default is to eat healthy and the exception is to splurge. I haven’t wanted to splurge much because I’m super motivated by the progress I’ve made so far. Seeing my body take on definition and muscles where I’ve never had then before is awesome (not to mention losing a layer of fat).

You asked so please don’t laugh but here are my before (130 lbs 6 weeks ago) and now (114 lbs) pics. Excuse the blurriness – iPhone doesn’t do so well in low light situations. Definitely still have work to do on toning my tummy/twin skin.

20120702-064647.jpg

20120702-064613.jpg

And as a reminder, here I am 1 year ago:

6 responses to “Getting Fit Update

  1. Thanks for sharing these pictures. You look great! This gives me hope that my stomach can and will get back to it’s old self again!

  2. katery

    you are looking great, good for you for sharing the photos, own that body girl!

  3. Wow – you really are making big progress here. I’m impressed at how much more tone you’ve gotten in that amount of time. Do your juices taste good? I’d love to make stuff like that to get in more veggies, but I’m not quite sure how they’d taste. I guess you must have your own juicer?
    Please keep on posting updates so we can see your progress. You’re looking good!

  4. Jenn

    Thanks for posting! What awesome progress!! Keep up the good work!

  5. KHBetterTogether

    Awesome!!! Your before looks remarkably familiar to looking in the mirror. We are on day 2 of juice…and probably using too much fruit but the veggies take so much to make a small quantity. Bad week to pick to do but I already feel like I have more energy.

  6. OMG! You look fantastic. You’ve made so much progress. I’m really impressed, and all this in just a matter of weeks!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

