Sugar Tests

Because I had GD with the twins, I had to take an early 1hr sugar test around 12w and passed with flying colors.

Fast forward to 25w. I failed the 1hr test at 135. My OB’s cutoff is 130. I didn’t fast beforehand (doctor’s recommendation) but it had been a few hours since I had eaten.

I was so upset! Having GD with the twins, I knew what would happen! I was able to control GD with diet so that wasn’t what I was worried about. I didn’t care about finger pricks 4x a day. It was the heel pricks for baby that I was dreading! I hated that the boys had to be poked every 2hrs! Plus, I’ll be honest. I love dessert. 🙂

I took the 3hr just shy of 28w. I fasted. I sipped water. I paced the entire time. My results were:
Fasting – 77
1hr – 139
2hr – 120
3hr – 45 (pretty low)

I PASSED! And I almost passed out! But I did it! Yay! No GD! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

