<3

Today I was marveling at my little ones and the one growing in my belly. Once upon a time in a not very nice fairy tale that just so happened to have a happy ending, my twins were each a single embryo. These little things comprised of only a few cells. These embryos were created out of my womb in a fluorescent-lit laboratory with the help of a scientist of sorts. The embryologist randomly selected two sperm and injected each into an egg. And once a few cells had formed, the embryologist took out a few to be tested. And to think that those teensy eensy embryos that had been manhandled could evolve into these two perfect beings, is mindboggling. I am completely blown away. Any other sperm and they’d be different people! And to think that both embryos took after transferring 9 others that didn’t.

Carrying them was both exhilarating and terrifying. As a first time mom, I had no idea what was in store but I was beyond excited. The risks of a twin pregnancy scared me every day, but we did it. To have my belly grow so round with baby was the prettiest I’ve ever felt in my life. I feel pretty with this pregnancy, too, but there’s something special about your first pregnancy. Or maybe it was a twin pregnancy. I felt so lucky. It almost wasn’t meant to be, and there I was getting ready to be a mama to two.

Now they’re approaching their 2nd birthday and time has just flown by. I love how they adore their daddy. I even love how they adore their nanny. But mostly, I am head over heels about how much they love their mama and how much I love them.

I’m the luckiest woman in the world. I have two curious, adorable toddlers, one on the way and an amazing husband of nearly a decade. What more could I want?

One response to “<3

  1. It sounds as though all your dreams have come true 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

