Escape Artist

Ten days into life with the new baby, one of my big babies decided cribs were for losers. He waltzed into our room at 5am, woke us up and our day began.

A twin mom friend gave me advice: footed sleep sacks. We stopped using these a long time ago. I wasn’t even aware they existed for bigger kids. I ordered 2 on amazon but due to the July 4th holiday, they wouldn’t arrive until Saturday. Ah!

We took our chances the next night. Same thing happened, only worse. He woke up at 2:15 and woke his twin, as well. I took the baby to the couch and my husband and boys shared our bed. My escape artist came out and woke me up at 5:15. Ugh.

Finally, I reached out to a neighbor (and another twin mom!) to see if she used sleep sacks for her kids. Turned out she did and let me borrow two (one for the escape artist and one so everyone is the same at bedtime).

Omg! Lifesaver! Ours arrive later today. Whew! Mama is NOT ready for toddler beds just yet. They’ll be two a week from Monday so I know it’s not far off, but I just need some time.

One response to “Escape Artist

  1. katery

    oh yeah, we only stopped using them about six months ago. they also prevent any diaper exploring (i’ve heard some pretty gross stories about kids taking off their diapers). at some point they’ll figure out how to unzip them, when they do, put them on backwards, my daughter couldn’t unzip her’s if it was backwards. i hate to say it, but she had no problem getting out of her crib while wearing her’s, maybe your little ones will give you more time than we got though, louise wore sleep sacks for a long time so she could do pretty much everything she could do without one on while wearing one.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

