Adventure Time

I just quit my six-figure big city job to go on a year-long adventure with my three miracle babies. WTF am I doing? Gah! The enormity of this decision is settling in. I’m equal parts terrified and elated.

Why am I doing this? For a few reasons:
– Baby A is pretty attached so I’ve been thinking about this for several months.
– Seeing Baby C grow (he’s almost 9 months already, crawling, and has 8 teeth!) reminds me how quickly they grow up and I want to soak in this time.
– There’s only 1 year left before the twins are in pre-k so if we’re going to do something crazy, now is the time to do it.
– Our nanny quit. She was taking advantage of us and it came to a head when I pushed back so she walked. Good riddance, but I’m also sad because she has been a big part of the boys’ lives.
– Our lease is up. Our neighborhood is AMAZING but it is really expensive so it doesn’t make sense to stay. (Plus I’m tired of the looks and comments when people see me out with all 3 boys as if I’m some circus side show.)
– I’m bored with my job. I’ve been there for over 5 years. I need something new where I am challenged AND inspired.

So we’re off! Where to? Who knows. No, really we’re making our hometown our home base then every other month or so, we’ll travel around checking out new places to try next. The goal being to end up somewhere we’re ready to plant some roots for a bit at the end if the year-long adventure. And to really live life as a family. Too much of our time is spent stressing out trying to get things done between childcare and work and regular life (household stuff). This adventure will allow us to relax and soak things in a bit.

I plan to stay connected with my industry so that my time off doesn’t set me back too far when I’m ready to renter the workforce in a year.

I plan to blog about our journey but probably on a private site. Holy shit! This is happening! Wish us luck!

P.S. My boss offered me the sun, moon and stars to stay including a cut of the company if it ever sells and a direct share in profits. I thought it over long and hard but honestly, neither of those things are definites and life is too short to wait around for a slim chance of some money. A year of adventures is worth way more than any amount of money. I just hope I don’t kick myself in the ass if he does sell and I miss out on a windfall. Maybe I’m stupid, but at this point it feels like I’d be choosing $ over my kids and that feels gross.

8 responses to “Adventure Time

  1. good for you. I am so envious! I am sitting here thinking WTF am I doing with my life? My plan is when I turn 40 (only a few years away) taking long service and travelling Australia. So i hear ya sister! Have a great time.

  2. Yes! Do it! That sounds like a wonderful adventure. I would love to read about it if you post publicly somewhere.

    Life is so short. You are going to have a blast!

    I have been thinking a lot about what to do “next.” I’m not sure yet but I am certainly inspired now!!

  3. What an amazing opportunity! I’m sure the adventure will be so incredibly worth it. I would love to follow along on your journey through your blog.

  4. KHBetterTogether

    Wow! Congrats that will be an amazing time- if you post publicly I would love to know! We (mostly my DH) decided to open a small business and it has been the roughest year in our marriage – add long hours and a new baby – I wish I could change paths – I hope you enjoy the break and find what’s awesome for you and your family!

  5. I am so excited for you! I would love to follow you too! I might actually be inspired to blog again myself. So, your husband must be able to work remotely? What a grand adventure for sure! You should check out Atlanta. ;)! If you do, let me know!

  6. Nikki

    You are probably deep in adventure right now! Hope you are having an amazing timeI would love to follow you too! I am on a 6 week adventure with my 2 year old twin boys – why not. Life is too short!

  7. WOW! Just popped by to see how you and the boys are after all this time – could not BE more jealous. When you’re old and looking back, you’ll not regret a single day spent making memories with family. Money? Pffft! Lovely to hear from you…I’d love to follow your adventures! xxx

  8. Denise

    I’m jealous! This is what I’ve always wished to do, but since I’m the bread winner -sadly can’t. Enjoy every second of it! Been a long time reader of yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

