Lone Ranger

We’re sure our family is complete with our three boys so we’ve been thinking about what to do with our one frozen embryo. Because we did CGH testing, the gender is known but we never wanted to find out. Now that we’re pretty sure we’re donating our embryo to science*, we wanted to find out the gender.

Why? Well I think a teensy tiny part of us was hoping it was a girl because then maybe, just MAYBE, we’d consider trying for a fourth child. But then you throw in the idea of a medicated cycle — the injections, the pills, the hormones — with the slim chance the embryo wouldn’t make the thaw. Or it would but you’re almost 40 and the chances of it resulting in a live baby is tiny so it would probably all be for naught. I just don’t think I have it in me to deal with all that hope and despair again. Not to mention the drugs. No thank you.

So we found out our Lone Ranger is a boy. I guess DH only makes boys. I am lucky enough to have three of the most beautiful boys and I already don’t have enough arms to snuggle them all at once like they so often want so we complete our (very busy!) family here.

But then again, we’ll probably just continue to pay the embryo storage fees because neither of us will want to let it go.

I can’t help but wonder if those 9 embryos we put back before the successful cycle with the twins were all girls? We make amazing little boys but maybe we’re just crap at making girls.

(*I wish we could be into the idea of embryo adoption but for very personal reasons, we’re not.)

2 responses to “Lone Ranger

  1. Sienna

    We have two frozen embryos and I don’t need any testing to know they are girls. I’m fairly sure dh only makes girls :o) we are done too but I can’t let go yet so we are still paying the fees.

  2. I used to believe that all the babies I lost were boys and I could only make girls. The sympathetic midwife agreed. Then I had a beautiful, healthy boy. They’re just odds. Just numbers. Don’t mean a thing!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Archives

